We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Inexpensive Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
North Las Vegas
1 review
“Good Inexpensive Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

This is our second trip to this hotel. Last year, it seemed cleaner and didn't have as many transient looking people around the pool. We did see a lot of families there, which made us feel better about our choice. All the employees are very nice and do whatever they can to make your trip a good one. We would go back again.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — clientele
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rtp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    126
    83
    71
    91
See reviews for
151
141
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cake4chris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

I come here to get away from LA. The pools are always so relaxing and the sunrise and sunsets are spectacular. The onsite diner has excellent food. The pool is open 24hrs for hotel guests. I will come back.

  • Liked — 24 hr pool
  • Disliked — mattress was too hard
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cake4chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Had a great time. The rooms wer nice and there are may hot pools to choose from. Great family place to bring kids. They have a kiddie pool for the very young ones. The food is very good and the employees are very polite.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We were very disappointed when we first got there. Do not go by the pictures on the website. It is nothing like that. The rooms have a quality the same as Motel 6. When we first came in I opened the closet door and it fell off. The TV's were down when we first got there, but they did get them working pretty quick. The bed's were ok.

The mineral pools were nice but it is very crowded because they have the option for day use. It seemed like a majority of people who were there were not staying at the motel.

We had a drink at the bar, the only people there were people who appeared to be locals. It was a good drink at a cheap price. The bartender was nice. It was uncrowded when we were in there. We were told it gets busy, but we didn't stay to see.

My husband and I both got massages. I had a great massage and so did my husband. He didn't tell me until we got home that there was a giant dead roach in the corner of his room.

We ordered room service twice, it was inexpensive and pretty good food. Both times food was delivered to our room in about 20 mins. That seems like it is good timing for room service.

We made the best of our weekend but next time we will just go to Palm Springs. This hotel is pretty much a dump and the pools are just too crowded.

  • Liked — spa services
  • Disliked — very run down motel, overcrowded pools
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikel215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

Glendale, CA
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I have been going to this place for years. It has been in the desert for years since the 1950's. It is old yes. However, we usually stay down in Palm Springs and drive up to it. The waters are wonderful. It does get crowded though on holiday weekends. I have been there though when hardly anybody around. The locals do use it and have been doing so for the past 50 years. The live there and the day passes are cheap. It is a well kept secret and I like it the way it is.

However, we did take a room there last year. It was good sized room. Only problem is I like to be in PS and walk about Palm Canyon and go down there for the music/clubs and a bit of a long drive.

It is not your 5 star gleaming glass tower. It is old desert hideway.

The place next door is more upscale. I think will stay there next time as looks newer.

All I can really say is DH Spa is kind of old and funky.

There are a lot of wierdos and eccentrics who live and roam about the desert.

Take it all as you find it.

The pools are lovely and good for you.

Enjoy

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank GillianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This is a dump for sure. It was built as a basic property, and has
run down badly. Generally beat up and depressing.

The town of Desert Hot Springs is 10 dreary miles north of Palm Springs. It is home to service workers who commute to PS, and
is decidely downscale. The hotels are here because of the hot springs.

We were at an Elderhostel program at the Miracle Hot Springs Hotel next door, which was overbooked and we wound up here. Elderhostel was so embaressed by it that they gave us a partial refund to compensat. The rooms are minimally furnished; the only good about them is they are fairly good sized.

The really wierd part is the plumbing. First evening I went to take a shower. Couldn't get decent hot water, and figured this place
was as shoddy as it looked. Next day I tried the shower again,
and COULDN'T GET COLD WATER. That's right, very hot water
out of both the hot and cold taps. Did the rest of my bathing in the pools (hope they filter them). Tried complaining the the Bozo at the fron desk, and he kept saying they were "checking on it".
On the last day he told us the same thing, and the other clerk couldn't keep froming giggling at him.

We were their during the week, and no problem with day users.
The multi-pool area is reasonably pleasent and pools themselves are good. Guess it would be OK for someone who wants pools on the cheap, but would still be better off next door at Miracle Hot Springs.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Bad plumbing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverside123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We needed to get out of LA for a breather so booked at this hotel at the very last minute. It seemed like a good deal and looked lovely on the website. Well, the place is definitely a dive - everything's plastic or formica and from the 60s. The beds are hard, the rooms are basic. You can hear your neighbor through the walls. Despite posted signs, people smoke by the pool and bring their dogs into their rooms. And the clientele is definitely your Denny's set - big bellies, beer-drinking (but not drunk at all), but salt of the earth. But take it for what it is - a cheap motel to get out of town, with some old California motel charm, and some hot tubs to chill around in. The desert air was wonderful. The room was at least clean, and after about 11 pm, it was pretty quiet. It's a 20 minute drive down to Palm Springs if you want a nice place to shop, go dancing, eat out. We won't stay there again - but we will check out the slightly more upscale property owned next door by the same people ("Miracle Springs").

  • Liked — cheap and friendly
  • Disliked — it's basically in disrepair
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Korean place just down the road - fabulous, authentic Korean food in the middle of nowhere!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrecklesandGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-2598
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing