We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planned a Romatic Valentines Spa weekend...What a MISTAKE! :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Studio City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Planned a Romatic Valentines Spa weekend...What a MISTAKE! :(”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Go look at the website for this place...it is SO deceiving! I wanted to plan a romantic 3-day, Valentine's day weekend for my husband and I, I looked up spas in the palm springs area and found the website for this "Hotel & Spa Resort". The website made it sound secluded, all-inclusive, like what a fancy spa experience should be. It was NOT that. we arrived, we were send to park in an unfenced parking lot that had a big sign that said "park at your own risk" we asked the front desk person and she said that "this area is sketchy at night". We found our room which was advertised as a king-size suite with Mountain view. The rrom was very "motel" like with eighties furnishings that were dirty. No shower curtain in the shower, and no bath robes. The pools were full of drunk "teens". That's when we found out the pools were 24 hr pools that were open to the public if they paid a 8$ admission. That just gives you an idea of the rif-raf that was allowed in. 2 of the pools were dirty with debris floating on top. There was a guy in the hot tub in his boxers. YUK. The restaurant was also dirty and the food was not even "Denny's" quality. The "sports-bar" was having kareoke night and all the "local-yokels" were there, drunk and obnoxious. Save your money, at almost $300.00 for 2 nights, this was a waste. We didn't even stay the 2nd night. Oh, and our room was near the main gate to the pool, so all night we heard these trashy people going in and out of the pool and it's loud, squeaky gate. DON'T GO THERE, you will be upset. :(

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank like2travellocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    122
    78
    68
    87
See reviews for
141
134
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, CA USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The last time we visited the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel was seven years ago. We decided to go back and try it again but after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I was a little leery of what we might find. The reviews seem to be polarized, people either love it or hate it, so being of the adventursome sort we decided to try it again and find out for ourselves.....and as we found out the reality lies somewhere in between.

This is one of the original hot springs spas in the area and was probably built in the 50's or so. Contrary to a previous review, we did not find the premises dirty, in fact there were people out early every morning skimming the pools and hosing down the decks to make sure everything is clean for that day's visitors. We also observed staff checking the PH and temperature of the pools several times a day to be sure they are properly maintained.

The first day we were there the wind was blowing very hard as can happen in the desert and the pools being outdoors and surrounded by palm trees and other plants can collect dirt and minute plant debris blown in by the desert wind.....to me this is normal and bound to happen no matter how carefully the pools are maintained, it is not a symptom of neglect and does not mean the pools are "dirty". In fact the very next morning after the high winds died down the pools were crystal clear from the actions of the staff and the pool filters.

The staff was outstanding from beginning to end, Nadine in check in is a jewel and even remembered our names from when I called in our reservations. We had massages and skin therapy in the spa and the therapists were first class, professional, and personable, the treatment could not have been better.

The restaurant is excellent, nothing fancy but a great variety of food at reasonable prices and excellent service....I also noted they were rated Grade A by the county health department. We had both dinner and breakfast there and everything was perfect.

That brings us to the rooms.....we agree that they are old and a little tired but for us that kind of adds to the charm of the place. Could we find fault with the room, yes there were a couple of issues, however nothing major but if you equate old with unclean than this is probably not the place for you.

To sum it up, this place is as comfortable as an old shoe. I agree with a previous review by "happywanderer020", read her review and you will get some additional insight. I second her observation, if you are looking for a fancy resort and beautiful people this is not the place for you and that's why I titled my review "It is what it is" either accept the DHSHS for what it is or go somewhere else but don't try to make it something it isn't and doesn't try to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I did not stay here but went there to use the hot springs after a day of hiking. Basically I would not refer this spa to anyone and was surprised that the visitor information place in Palm Springs sent us here.

We are not picky people and are usually open to new adventures however this place was so dirty i was actually concerned about being in the water. Yes we did actually go in the water however did not stay long.

We read these reviews before going however because Palm Springs raves about it we decided to go, do not go. I am thinking it was nice at one time however has not been maintained since the day it opened and therefore is what it is today.

In summary, just don't try it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Treavel_A_Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

south pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We have stayed many times at the DHSSH after we watched the Huel Howser show. The first time, our children were quite young and just literally melted into a sweet sleep after playing in the various pools. And no, our kids are not the juvenile monsters that some visitors seem to have encountered. In fact, we have little tolerance for ill-behaved children and have found that most children at the hotel have lively fun but usually seem to monitor themselves pretty well. We love the low key mid century vibe of the place, including the restaurant and bar. Guests and staff alike have a lot of character and are a lot of fun. When we finally turn into the driveway of the hotel after the drive from LA, I feel like I've arrived at an oasis of calm. One of the bar's excellent Irish coffees in the evening is sooo pleasant. (A bloody Mary at breakfast and a margarita in the afternoon are also good choices, but nothing beats a cold glass of the local mineral water with ice. The water actually seems crispy fresh. ) Our rooms are always clean and comfortable, sheets soft and white. We are able to eventually get enough towels. We fill our little refrigerator with healthy snacks and drinks, and we're ready to let the weekend unfold. It's lovely waking up in the middle of the night and going out to stand on the balcony in the desert moonlight . The waters just seem magical at that time, and it's easy to understand why the Indian people of the area considered the place sacred. If you are one of the "too, too beautiful people" looking for "the scene," please go somewhere else. You wouldn't fit in here, and you'd just be an embarrassment to us regular people just looking for a simple place to rejuvenate!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

So I meant to book a room at the Miracle Springs Spa which is right next door to Desert Hot Springs. Unfortunately, I told my friend the wrong name and she ended up booking a room at Desert Hot Springs. The woman she booked the room with told her 4 times that we could not get a refund so we were stuck here. When we arrived, we immediately looked yearningly over at the Miracle Springs, which is significantly nicer and better. Desert Hot Springs is definitely the very ugly, very overweight, very unattractive stepsister.

First, it appears that they allow the outside public to use the pools/spas (for cost). So the pool area is always overflowing with really unsavory people. The worst kinds of tourists seem to come here. Mostly tourists with huge families and a lot of rude teenagers/kids. There were TONS of families here so it appears to be popular for families on a serious budget.

The pools/spas were always way too crowded for my friend and I to enjoy them. We finally went around 11 pm and there were still a lot of people. The spas were quite dirty but I guess that's expected given how many people were using them. Needless to say, we showered vigorously. Next to the pool area is a bar that was open late but unfortunately, the bar users were loud, drunk and obnoxious.

The facilities are really quite grimy and old. Does not look like anyone cleans them routinely.

As for the room itself, there was blood stains on the wall outside of our door. Seriously. I was about to complain but we were only there one night and we immediately bolted for Palm Springs. The room was average size but it smelled quite odd and the AC took a while to get going. The bathroom was not very clean. The walls and glass door leading out to the patio overlooking the pools was thick enough that we didn't hear much noise. Pillows are WEAK so try to bring your own. No amenities but that's to be expected. They DID have FREE WiFi in the room so that's awesome.

There is plenty of free parking. The hotel staff was courteous enough. There appeared to be a diner attached but we didn't look at it.

In total, we definitely will not stay here again. Will stay at the Miracle Springs next time and not make the same mistake twice.

That being said, this place did seem popular with families on a budget and it seemed...um, safe enough, I suppose.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMissTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Dumpy. No view. Very crowded pools in an unattractive setting. Small rooms. Really, if this is all you can afford go to a different town where you get more for your money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

very overpriced. carloads of kids screaming and jumping in the hot pools, so if you stay there and pay the high price, you have to put up with the crowds of kids, if you can get in at all. floods on patio. toilet handle has to be held down to flush. sleep timer never worked, fixed 3 times. really greasy food awful food in the cafe. owner's three young teen boy brats allowed to fly paper airplanes in the cafe over people's heads while they ate, and then they were allowed to scream and play loudly in the bar with the karaoke microphone, so all diners were subjected to this as well. Computer in lobby broken. No microwave in room Huge Black swinging exit and entry Iron Gate slams shut and makes very loud noise, annoying all the adjacent rooms next to it, so loud it wakes you up every time it's used (every 10 -15 min on weekends, they allow the general public in there, so lots of drunken parties in pool area on weekends.
Food next door at 'sister hotel' is really great, as is the service, but all have be eaten in yet another cafe, as the restaurant is shut down except fro Sun brunch.. cafe has islands with filthy dusty plastic/old cloth silky plants that you have to sit next to at eye level and breathe in this filth while you are eating.
* suggest avoiding this place even when they lower the price to $79.00 it's simply not worth the hassle. Needs to be leveled and rebuilt with new owners who know how to run a hotel properly. You can't charge top prices and then let busloads of people and
yukky homeless looking people in to mingle and make a mess, those of us who pay the high price to stay there are paying for ambiance and peace and quiet not raggedy drunks and bratty kids running amuck..

  • Liked — the 8 mineral pools
  • Disliked — the 8 mineral pools which were too crowded with ggeneral public rugrats screaming and jumping
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank piapiapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Two Bunch Palms
Two Bunch Palms
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel

Property: Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Address: 10805 Palm Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2598
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel is famous for its natural hot mineral water! So come for the day and use our eight natural hot mineral pools. A classic example of retro 60s architecture, the Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel features fifty comfortable rooms wrapped around a large courtyard with towering palms and eight shimmering natural hot mineral spring pools open 24 hours. Spa-goers and sun worshipers come from far and wide to partake in the restful and relaxing atmosphere.Spas are nice, but natural mineral spring spas are paradise! We offer the desert’s most extensive and affordable spa therapies and beauty treatments in a fun, casual setting.You’ll also enjoy indoor and outdoor dining at the Sunshine Café, or sip your favorite beverage in the Sports Lounge or poolside while you sun and soak.And the Desert Hot Springs Spa is pet friendly! We also offer room service and wireless Internet for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing