We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hope Springs

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hope Springs
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Nevada
1 review
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

Not fancy but quiet and relaxing. Soaking in the spas was great. If you need a quiet weekend or getaway to recoup, this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NVBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

Hope Springs is wonderful, understated and just right...and so is the manager. I note that some reviewers have taken cheap shots at Chloe, "the concierge," specifically regarding her personality. First of all, she's not a concierge--she's a manager. Secondly, she's a competent, thoughtful, no-nonsense person who does what she can to please the guests. Is she fawning and obsequious? Hardly! Does she fit in with Hope Springs minimalist approach? Absolutely. Rodeo Drive seekers should stay away. Others will enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2006

Everything you've read about this place, in all those hipster magazines (Conde Nast Traveler, Vogue, etc etc), is true. This is an exceptionally serene and beautiful place, and the perfect spot to unwind. The architectural and design elements are extraordinary (John Lautner designed the building in 1947, and the rooms are furnished with Eames' rocking chairs). What can be better than spending a few days reading by the pool, dipping into the hot springs, sipping herbal teas? The views of the mountains, sky, stars, and desert are sublime.

A few reviewers have noted that you don't get the friendliest welcome in the world, but don't jump to conclusions. Yes, Chloe doesn't smile too much, but she is helpful and very hands off--this is a place for solitude and so I think her hands off approach is just fine.

Breakfast was simple but excellent (fresh fruits and pastries). If you don't get a room with a kitchen, don't worry: there is also a communal kitchen with a constant supply of hot water (you can help yourself to tea/coffee any time, and there's a fridge).

Oh, and be sure to have the cheese tamales at South of the Border, and a martini and steak at Capri's (which is VERY old school Italian).

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

This is a pretty cool place. The rooms are pretty, minimalist, and comfortable. The pool and tubs are inviting and a good place to relax. The mid-century decor is well-done.

HOWEVER, the concierge did not make any attempt whatsoever to make us feel welcome. We are not demanding guests in need of pampering, but a "welcome to Hope Springs," "good morning," or a "thank you for staying at Hope Springs" would have been nice.

This is being written 11/30/05, because we wanted to give the place another try. I informed the manager in March about the concierge's discourteous behavior. The manager apologized, and told me that the employee in question would "be shortly on her way." I called today to make a reservation for this coming January, and the same terribly rude concierge answered the telephone, so we have decided to stay elsewhere this winter in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karpjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

This place is wonderful if you want to spend time alone with your significant other. It is private, quiet, very adult oriented(no kids). Just hang out by the pool and relax. The pool is open 24 hours, we bought food for lunch and sat around swimming, eating, and drinking on our patio. The pools are so comfortable, warm, decadent. Like an oasis.
The managers will direct you to restaurants in town if you want to go out either in Desert Hot Springs or Palm Springs which is super close. The rooms are great. Simple but stylish and super comfortable. No tvs. It's just wonderful and the lack of tvs really helps you focus on more important things. The only negatives were: the breakfast was the same every single day. And, I did not see any gourmet pastries. It was basic. Hard boiled eggs, cereal, and toast. Not any effort at all, it seemed.
The manager was nice, but anal and easily annoyed. Although, I don't agree with the previous post that said service was bad, I can understand how it could have been her experience. Just because I saw the manager be borderline rude so often. For example, on the website it says that if you want lunch prepared to just say so in advance, I did. The response was she did not have time because she has another business to run. Hmmm. Why is that our problem? That was unprofessional.
But, overall if you don't ask her for anything, she'll recommend some great restaurants and overall you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

Wow - don't know what the previous poster was thinking but I just finished up a three day stay at Hope Springs and it was everything I wanted and more. A peaceful oasis off the beaten track in a treasure of a modernist building. The staff on-site - Liz and Evica - were exemplary. I wonder if the previous poster had unrealistic expectations for Hope Springs. True, it does not have room service but that is not what this place is about. I found it to be a place to get away from it all, one that I plan to visit repeatedly from now on.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2005

over rated and overpriced. my friends and i rented out the entire hotel for a friends birthday. not only were we charge more than a regular room rate, for "a cleaning fee". the last day the manager on duty tried to charge us an additional $300 for a cleaning. pretty shady if you ask me.
hopesprings is clean, but kind of run down. most of the jets in the jacuzzi didn't work. the barbeques were stored in a rear area near the trash cans and barely worked nor had been cleaned recently, the stoves in the kitchen did not work, theres no wait staff what so ever...
mostly it's not worth it based on the attitude of the staff.
which seemed like "they were doing us a favor" by letting us stay there.
since you have to bring your own food and utensils, i really felt like i had paid alot of money to "camp" in someone's back yard.
cute mid century decor can not disguise bad service at it's best.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Springs

Property: Hope Springs
Address: 68075 Club Circle Dr, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4368
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#14 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, perfect getaway located two hours east of Los Angeles, Hope Springs's main attractions are its hot mineral water, flowing through three pools 24-hours-a-day, classic mid-century California architecture combined with a modern minimalist sensibility, and a level of service that is both laid-back and attentive. Then there are the spectacular views, a full menu of massages and body treatments, delicious breakfasts, as well as proximity to both Joshua Tree National Forest and Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hope Springs Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing