We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest at the Secret Garden Hotel”
Review of Cafe Secret

Cafe Secret
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Secret is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The magic that happens in Cafe Secret's tiny kitchen dates back to the couple's childhood years in Peru, where good food and great company was a part of life. We are full-service restaurant proud to serve homemade authentic Peruvian cuisine. Join us in the heart of Del Mar, San Diego California. Our cozy indoor-outdoor setting, on the street, covered by beautiful bugambilia, resembles side street cafe from a european city. Romatic, quaint with a lot of character. Come and join us for some out of this world flavors.
Agoura, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Guest at the Secret Garden Hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Secret Garden Hotel adjacent to the Cafe Secret. Included with the hotel is breakfast at the Secret Garden. We enjoyed our breakfast and the staff is very nice. We went back the next night for dinner. It is a Peruvian restaurant with lots of Civiche and tasty dishes. The seating is outside, nice on a summer night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 228Marilyn1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a couple of ceviches. Very expensive for what you get. Also had seafood soup, yam, shrimp appetizer was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank davis-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Peruvian Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have spent much time in Peru since I have family living there. We have also tried several Peruvian restaurants in California. Many are really nouveau Peruvian and are quite expensive and not worth the money. Don't let the name of the restaurant fool you, the food is great and very authentic. All the sauces have just enough aji (hot pepper) for flavor, but not too much to burn your mouth and ruin the taste. The ceviche is some of the best. I had the Macho and it was amazing. My husband stuck to his usual, Aji de Gallina and loved it. Don't skip the Alfajores for dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Now I want to travel to Peru!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food! I got the macho...a seafood sampler. Fresh local sea bass, plus a half dozen other things. Cheap wine and tapas Tuesday-Thursday evenings too. Outdoor seating. Great staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great food but dogs allowed?????????”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We certainly enjoyed the food. Great pork sandwiches. Enjoyed the outdoor seating and the humming birds. Did not enjoy the fact that people are allowed to bring their dogs without any consideration for people with allergies or how badly the dog's hair was matted or how bad the dog smelled or how loud the dog barked. Leave the dogs at home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divearnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Secret also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Secret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing