We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sooo good”
Review of Board & Brew

Board & Brew
Ranked #9 of 92 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“sooo good”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice variety of very filling sandwiches and subs. Very fresh and the sauce on the sandwiches is amazing. Limited seating, but not far from a park on 15th street overlooking the ocean. There was a line to order, but it moved quickly and the wait for our food was short. There was a separate line for those who had called their order in ahead of time-I would do this next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debrick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh sandwich”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

After traveling for several weeks we were craving for a light lunch - anything not fried. We stopped at Del Mar, looked at several restaurants' menus and decided this nondescript deli will do. When the place was full of locals we knew we were onto something good.

All 3 of us had something different, bread was fresh, sandwich piled high with salad and meat. It was a winner for a quick casual lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches - ambiance is a little rough”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had the turkado - turkey with avocado on wonderful bread. I would definitely eat there again. There is a line to order at the counter and seats both inside and out. The décor and seating area is a little rough around the edges but the staff was very nice. The sandwiches are very hearty - too much for me to finish. I would recommend this place if you are HUNGRY.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Good vibes and food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Very busy at lunch but line moved fast. Baja chicken sandwich was unique - spicy but very good. Salads also good. Fun, youthful clientele. May be hard to find a table.

Helpful?
Thank Macptr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's Just A Regular Sandwich Joint”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Will someone please tell me what the hype or big deal is about this place? It's a regular sandwich joint, if that.

For the price of a sandwich, you do not get much in the way of meat (like the turkey that I ordered), just lots of fixings to make it look large.

And the place is not particularly clean or well presented. Complete with rickety plastic chairs and tables.

Agree with a previous viewer that the bathrooms are disgusting and with no soap and no hand towels. One can only HOPE the workers making the sandwiches here do not use the same bathrooms....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Board & Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing