We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Beach Access is a Myth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed the The Clarion and Del Mar. The facility is well kept with newly renovated bathrooms and within walking distance of the Del Mar village (@ 15 minutes).

My only issue with this hotel is that their website is misleading in noting that they are two blocks from the beach. Yes, this is true, but there is no access to the beach in this area unless you want to cross commuter rail tracks(which is illegal and a possible fine) and scale 40 foot high sand cliffs that have "do not descend or climb cliffs signs as they are UNSTABLE".
The true distance to beach access in Del Mar village is a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Deane P: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. The newly renovated rooms are great and our new Bistro C Café is convenient for our guests and locals alike.

I truly hope you enjoyed your time here in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines. Unfortunately, my reading sounds as if you may have been misled with the wrong directions to the beach, there’s numerous ways to get to our beautiful beaches. We’ll make sure upon your next trip to offer correct directions to either Del Mar OR Torrey Pines State Beaches.

Take care in Albuquerque, weather this time of year should be a little on the warm side, but beautiful nevertheless.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 448 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

I needed to meet with a prospective out-of-country buyer on short notice. In order to accommodate this prospective buyer, I had to make arrangements to meet her in a different county altogether. I called around several different hotels in that area seeking availability. Sheila Zable contacted me on a Sunday, which I didn't think would happen, and she offered me the cozy library as a meeting space, since the meeting room had already been previously booked on my meeting date. I was VERY satisfied with the library. It was just the right size, comfortable, and offered the seating and table arrangements that would be conducive to a business meeting for only two people. Complimentary water bottles were provided and a sign posted on the door stating that the library was reserved.

The hotel looked clean and well-maintenanced. It has beautiful grounds with an English garden theme. The lobby and library had a light, bright, and airy look and feel. This is not a large hotel, but a small, quaint, cozy inn overlooking the ocean. Really nice.

I was also VERY satisfied with the assistance that I received from the two maintenance workers, who helped unload my vehicle with my materials and hardware, transported it all to the library, unloaded it all in the library, then transported back to my car and then reloaded my car. I did not expect that much assistance, but I sincerely appreciated it.

Wonderful, friendly staff!!!! =:-D

The only reason I am giving 4.5 stars instead of a full 5 is because I did not have cash on hand to provide the workers as a tip (my fault) and I wanted to charge it to my company credit card, but was told that was not possible. There was no ATM on premises, so, I would have had a perfect business day if I were able to convenienty get cash or charge my card for the tip. Perhaps the management may want to consider adjusting their system to be able to allow this in the future.

I would really like to come back and visit again for recreation/personal reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splashgear U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Splashgear U: WOW! Thank you for the great comments on TripAdvisor. We believe it’s our duty and responsibility to assist our guests & client’s to succeed in whatever endeavors they’re participating.

We’re sincerely happy your meeting was sooo very successful.

Hope to have you visit again for some fun in the sun.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Among the most accommodating lodges I've come across over the past 20 years. I needed an affordable hotel in an expensive location close by to a hospital in Torrey Pines, and I needed it early and quickly. Pamela certainly went out of her way to provide me with exactly what I needed when I needed it. How rare is that? I'm grateful that Clarion is smart enough to employ such a highly customer-service oriented representative that cares about the guest. I'd only wish all the big boys out there, like Hilton and Marriott, understood that it's the representative facing the guests that makes all the difference in providing the highest-quality experience, not all the marketing blitz. And BTW, it’s a wonderful place to spend a night for a litany of other reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShotgunJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear ShotgunJonny: It’s an honor to read great comments similar to yours as you’re absolutely correct, it’s about the friendly and professional “front line staff members” who make all the difference. AND, Pamela is one of those rare individuals who do exactly that, take great care of our guests.

We hope to have you return on better circumstances.

Thank you for the great compliments on TripAdvisor, many have no idea how great our newly renovated facilities are and all we have to offer. I won’t write a commercial, BUT, check us out, we’re really proud of our new amenities and new facilities.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed one night here to be close to UCSD medical center. From the hotel, it's any easy 6 mile drive. The hotel offers a reasonable special rate for UCSD medical visitors. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room, on the first floor, was clean and comfortable although furniture and wallpaper were dated. The bathroom was small but adequate. The balcony faces the parking lot so not exactly an ocean view!. The bed was extremely comfortable with a fresh, clean duvet and down pillows. Parking was ample and complimentary (yay!) The hotel is in easy walking distance to town where I had dinner. I would have enjoyed complimentary coffee and/or continental breakfast in the lobby that so many other hotels do offer. Overall it was a pleasant stay for one night. However, I don't think I would stay here if I were on vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPP214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear MMP214: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We take great care of those visiting UCSD Medical Center. From shuttles to and from center, Free coffee/tea in every room, free parking and those great rates we offer to those visiting.

Wonderful to read you had a pleasant stay/visit here at The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel.

Hope to have you visit on better circumstances.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family recently took a west coast vacatiuon to LA & SD. We had heard great things about the Clarion Del Mar Inn. The hotel and staff lived up to all of our expecations. It is located in a great beach town, overlooks the ocean, and is an easy walk/commute to the center of town and the public beaches. The hot tub and pool are fantastic (especially if you have kids!). The rooms are very clean and the linens and beds are comfy. They recently redid all of the bathrooms. They look great. The hotel is very affortable and the management team and staff were extremely helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend the Del Mar Inn.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a balcony view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Scott P: A “BIG THANK YOU“ for your comments on TripAdvisor, they’re greatly appreciated. We’re rapidly becoming a KID friendly hotel with all the room to play outside the pool & spa areas. AND, if that’s not enough, we always have the public park next door for basketball, Lacrosse, a little baseball, OR just running around the park for fun in the sun.

We’re aware you’re clear across the US, but if you ever make a return trip, we’ll be here for you & the family for another adventurous trip.

Thank you again for the great comments.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location, with balcony views of the ocean. Newly updated rooms and an onsite café. Easy walk into town with a variety of restaurants, shops, and bars. Walking distance to the beach or to Torrey Pines for hiking. Easy drive into San Diego. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the breeze on the balcony of the upper floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Nancy S: Great location, great balconies, & great Ocean Views. Newly Renovated Rooms and our on Site Café – Bistro C. Everything (I hope) a guest could want, but you won’t know until you check out our hotel for yourself.

We greatly appreciate your comments above as we’ve REALLLY worked hard on designing our newly renovated hotel to best suit our guests and visitors.

Whether walking or driving, we’re a short distance to all the major attractions AND the most beautiful coastline in the world. Just can’t be beat!

Hope to have you return again into the near future for fun in the Southern California Sun.

Thank you for a great shout out on TripAdvisor, your comments are shared with millions of viewers considering where to visit AND importantly, where to stay. That’s where we come into play.

You won't regret choosing the Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel for your next stay.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great hotel and location is walking distance to town with a lot of choices of restaurants and bars. Also walking distance to beach and hiking at Torry Pines. Rooms are updated and very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff is excellent! Everyone is very nice and all are willing to help you with anything that you may need. We highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear lori r: You may recall I introduced myself to you and you group checking in to our hotel in Del Mar, what a great group to be vacationing and the adventurous types are the best.

Thank you for a great shout out on TripAdvisor, your comments are shared with millions of viewers considering where to visit AND more importantly, where to stay.

That’s where we come into play. Great location & step away from fun in the sun, hope the gang took me up on my suggestion to visit The Birch Aquarium, very cool place for all ages.

Hope to have you visit Del Mar/La Jolla again where we could host the adventurers from Arizona.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#69 of 278 in San Diego
777 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $137 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing