We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room; good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
DFW, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Average room; good breakfast”
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Location: Nice location on a busy street, close to many shops and the beach (Powerhouse and Torrey Pines). I don't consider it to be a walkable distance, especially when you have young kids. The area seems safe and quiet.

Room: We reserved an ocean view room, but they overbooked that room so we were given a garden view. It is a view of the pool and the street. For the price (<$150), it was acceptable. Room was dated, although everything seemed clean and well-maintained. The room is smaller than some of the newer chain hotels; the bathroom was also lacking in space.

Breakfast: Good selection of pastries. Fresh fruit. Juice and milk. Only negative: coffee; tried it for 2 days and finally had to get some Starbucks. Attendant was friendly and helpful.

Overall: Nice hotel for the price, but will probably look at some of the other hotels that are closer to the beach for future visits. We spent 20 minutes looking for parking for the Powerhouse Park and Beach; the streets are narrow and parking is sparse.

  • Liked — Quiet and safe location
  • Disliked — Had to drive to local beach and shops
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickensWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    122
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
111
145
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Great hotel. We stayed there 7 nights during the month of June. The breakfast was light but very tasty! Cereal, pastries etc. Very close to the beach and little village. Lovely newly renovated rooms were clean and spacious. We will return!

satisfied guest!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank beatle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamong, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2008

The room was small and the linen looked as if the hotel has had it since its inception. Carpet needs to be replaced.The mattress was much too soft and sinking to the point that by the next morning my back was sore. I had to request that the feather pillows be replaced with non-
allergenic ones. The staff was courteous and accommodating. Interior renovation would defnitely be in order. Would not stay there again.

  • Liked — close to fair grounds
  • Disliked — bedding
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thriftytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

This hotel was one of several recommended to me by UCSD where I was interviewing for a job. It is a wonderful hotel for the money! Located in a nice strip of shopping/restaurants/hotels with a view of the water. Also within close driving to a major mall. Very safe hotel property - I accidentally left my laptop propped up against my car for over an hour in the parking lot and nobody touched it! The hotel has a great outdoor pool and jacuzzi nestled among nice landscaping, plenty of free parking, nice continental breakfast, and very friendly staff. For business travelers, also has fast wireless internet and complimentary computer use with printing. Well worth the money. Although the hotel is somewhat older, toilet didn't flush well, and the ironing board cover had major stains to the point that I couldn't use it, the overall experience was so positive that I didn't feel a need to complain. Shuttle service to UCSD ends at 3:00 pm so make your travel plans accordingly.

  • Liked — Nice location
  • Disliked — Dirty ironing board
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HollySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2008

The location is great, with half of the rooms with an ocean view. Very pleasant staff and front office. Plenty of parking for your car (at least off-season).

The rooms do need some updating.

The few issues I had were promptly taken care of by staff.

I have recommended the Del Mar Inn to others as the price is reasonable for the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott_fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

My friends and I stayed for two nights at this motel, and were very pleased with our experience. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the rooms we had were clean and pleasant.

The motel has an English tudor-style motif, and the rooms are more nicely decorated than your standard sterile motel room. My room had a kitchenette, and the appliances were somewhat outdated but still workable.

The motel has a library room, which is a nice addition and the pool and hot tub are very pleasant.

Breakfast is the standard one might expect for a motel… serve yourself with cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee and pastries.

The motel is a pleasant walk from the stores and restaurants in Del Mar.

We had to leave very early (3:15 AM) on the morning of our departure, and the hotel was very nice about helping us to arrange for a taxi, which arrived promptly.

The hotel has a computer and printer near the front desk, and guests can use it for free.

Overall I would say that this motel is nicer than your standard chain motel, and a good value.

  • Liked — Above average decorating, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Somewhat outdated furniture
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

This hotel is very old and furnishing are just that, carpets were very dirty and bathroom looked like it was in the process of being redone. They did have some nice soaps and lotions, but that is the best I can say, not worth the cost

  • Liked — lotions and soaps
  • Disliked — the carpet and shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing