We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our company had a big group from around the world staying at the Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel, and held a meeting at their facility. Our guests were very impressed with the rooms and comfort of the hotel. The meeting room full filled all our needs and the efficiency and set up where completely satisfactory, plus the cost of the hotel rooms where very reasonable. The location of the hotel is perfect, since it is in the heart of Del Mar, and easy to walk to places like restaurants, shops and most of all the beautiful beaches of Del Mar. We are highly recommending Clarion Del Mar Inn, because of the charming european flair of the hotel & rooms and especially the staffs very personal, caring touch. Thank you !

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constanze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Constanze C: Thank you for your ever so kind comments on TripAdvisor. It’s truly our pleasure to offer our hotel & facilities to you and your group.

I want to personally thank you and Brian for this opportunity to “show-case” our newly renovated facilities to you and your colleagues.

Also, thank Brian for being such a great sport keeping the meetings on track & on time.

As promised, we’re perfect for small groups and meetings under 100 with our Southern California Sunshine and Ocean views from the Bistro Café.

Changing plans on the fly is our specialty; we completely understand why the group chose to eat outside verses inside with the fantastic weather we were experiencing during their conference.

NOTE: I was acting as photographer for several of your visitors taking pictures with various devices. They were very excited with the views and incredible one of a kind Sunsets.

We look forward to hosting future events for your company.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 446 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for 2 nights. The room looks nice and the balcony with the ocean view is amazing. The employees that we encountered were all pleasant. The problems we had were the bed was very uncomfortable. Their website has a lot of misleading things on it. For instance the website says they have robes in the room...they don't. The website also says they have a poolside fire pit...the guy at the front desk said they don't. The book inside the room says they have coffee 24 hrs a day in the lobby...also not true. Which is fine if they don't offer these but they shouldn't be advertising that they do.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crzyblonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear crzyblonde23: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! We enjoy the good, the bad and the ugly as we can’t be all things to all visitors. Unfortunate to read your bed was uncomfortable, our beds are less than a year old and we strive to care and maintain
their peak of performance. We’ll verify if there’s any wear and tear on your particular bed.

The robe matter is underway and most rooms already have them in their respective closets.
This is something we’re contently working to make guests aware we do in fact have robes on the third floor rooms; this is an extra amenity we’re initiating floor by floor.

My apologies if you were without. As for the coffee, we do offer coffee in all our rooms in our newly renovated wet bars; this has temporarily replaced the coffee in our Lobby until we complete the final touches on our renovations. If you look outside our Lobby you cannot miss our brand new fire pit next to the pool and our other fire pit next to our New Bistro C Café.

Thank you for candid comments, it helps us better understand what we’re doing right, wrong and how to improve our service and amenities.

We hope to have your return for another visit and experience all we have to offer in the beautiful Sea side village of Del Mar.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in this wonderful place. It's a small property, but everything about it is high quality. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and have small wet bars with refrigerators. The building is solid and the rooms are quiet (no noise form adjoining rooms). Our room on the west side had a balcony with a view of the ocean. The pool/hot tub area is is beautifully landscaped and well-maintained. I would have rated the Clarion a five except for two factors - the onsite restaurant was awful in every way, and the rooms do not have bathtubs ( my wife likes to soak), only very nice showers. We have family and friends in the Del Mar/San Diego area, so we'll go back to the Clarion

Room Tip: West side, second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddenms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear cmaddenms: Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate all comments to assist us with offering better service. I can only state we’re working diligently of our New Bistro C as we’ve only been open for a few months and are working out the trials and tribulations of our new facility.
It’s surprising to read you mentioned we have no bathtubs? When in fact we do have bathtubs in some of our rooms, they’re limited to only a few of our rooms – we should have been more responsive to know if you had chosen a room with a bathtub.

We’ll make a point of identifying those with and without a better thought for future guests.

We hope to exceed your expectations upon your next visit to our beautiful boutique hotel located in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar, La Jolla and Torrey Pines.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There are only 3 hotels in downtown Del Mar and this was the first one we tried. It was excellent! We asked for an ocean view and got a 3rd floor room. Accommodations were modern, the King bed was comfy (both sides had a small table!) and the shower had great water pressure. There was a small fridge (empty) and a microwave which was nice for saving and reheating leftovers... the Americana is a must for breakfast! For a room under $200/night I'm not sure we'll try the other 2 places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Mardy1: Wow! As a seasoned veteran traveler, your comments really help soooo many with others who travel and review TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you taking time to compliment our newly renovated Hotel with all the trimmings (it’s holiday season).

Most importantly, you enjoyed yourselves during your visit and experiencing all the wonderful local flavors of Del Mar.

We hope to have you visit again and again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Clarion Del Mar Inn. The rooms are modern and immaculate. The rates are great. The location and staff are outstanding. It is within walking distance to the quaint Del Mar restaurants and shops, as well as the beach. If I was visiting Del Mar, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The onsite restaurant is a great place to start or wind up your day. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to the Del Mar Inn. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Rich K: Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor. As with sooo many other comments similar to yours, the entire staff strives to make your business or vacations complete.

MANY of our guests have complimented us on our newly renovated hotel and most importantly, they enjoyed their visit even more with the new wet bars and expanded bathrooms.

AND also mentioned how much they “really enjoyed our new Bistro Cafe”. We truly appreciate your compliments.

I’ll be sure and share your comments with our staff.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Newly renovated rooms and fresh looking seaside feel. Staff is accommodating with a smile. No frills but bathrooms very modern and large. Conveniently close enough to walk to downtown in 10 or so minutes. Bistro good for quickie meal or snack. Good experience overall.

Room Tip: Ocean view on upper floors (over parking lot). Front of hotel on main street (over pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycouple033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear happycouple033: Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I must sometimes sound like a broken record, but soooo many guests have complimented us on our newly renovated hotel.

AND most importantly, they enjoyed their visit even more with the new wet bars and expanded bathrooms AND also mentioned how much they “really enjoy our new Bistro”.

We truly appreciate your compliments. I’ll be sure and share your comments with our staff.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Del Mar in September and were pleasantly surprised
at the hospitality and were able to walk to restaurants, the weather was great
and they even upgraded our room that looked out over the ocean

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear asfordman: Thank you for your very kind comments on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you sharing with other guests who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process.

We understand you have many choices when it comes to hotel stays; we’re excited you chose us for your visit to Del Mar/La Jolla for your recent stay.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $136 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing