We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corona, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer Bliss”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My Wife and i have made yearly trips to Del Mar for the past 8 years. We have stayed at all the local hotels in Del Mar and Solano Beach. This hotel was very small and recently upgraded. The room was very nice and with an ocean view. The pool is not heated but the spa worked good. The food at the hotel was OK but the help at the hotel was excellent. A pleasure to spend time watching the sun go down.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: Each room has a sliding glass door to the fresh air outside. Sleep with the cool ocean breeze coming in your room.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Douglas L: Seems like the summer for return trips to Del Mar & The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel are on the rise. 8 years & returning, Del Mar is an outstanding location & Sea Side Village with all the wonders of beach local & amenities for an excellent pleasure vacation & time to watch our incredible sunsets.

Thank you for staff compliments, we work very hard to offer exceptional service. Our new bistro is still working on the menu; we hope to have more to offer on your next trip. We strive for excellence, not just OK.

My apologies our pool wasn’t warm enough for you, we do keep our pool temperature at a constant 78 degrees, some like it HOT, & others like it a bit cooler. We’ll research your concerns to determine appropriate water temperature.

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for others to read while exploring options to stay while visiting Del Mar. Hope to have you visit again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    122
    50
    17
    27
See reviews for
110
144
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years for little vacations. It has always been a charming, wonderful place to stay. It is not fancy but, rather simple, clean with incredible hotel personnel who excel at great customer service and graciousness. I recently stayed at the hotel in one of the newly renovated rooms. The upgrades are excellent - updated rooms, bathrooms, great lighting but the same understated grace as before. The grounds are lovely with lots of plants and blooms, access to the beach is a quick walk through a gate and down a path and many rooms have ocean views. You cannot beat the location - in the village of Del Mar within walking distance to great restaurants and shops and it easily beats the experience at the other nearby hotels in every way. It's new little bistro restaurant has a nice selection of food and the patio is a great place to relax and enjoy the beach weather.

Room Tip: Until the first floor is renovated which is starting soon according to the concierge, request one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear stephanie s: A true verteran visitor of The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel. I sometimes believe I’m repeating myself, BUT thank you, thank you, & thank you!

I sincerely appreciate you sharing your comments on TripAdvisor for others to read while exploring locations to visit.

We’re very proud of our upgrades and updated rooms, & I agree you can’t beat our Sea Side Location.

Finally, our new Bistro is the Best, I understand we can’t compete with Local Favorites like Jake’s, Poseidon, or Pacifica Del Mar as these are but a few of the best restaurants in Del Mar, if not San Diego. We simply offer a great food & beverage source for those not wanting to go out to relax & enjoy a great breakfast or dinner.

We look forward to you visiting The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel again & again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Inn for 2 nights. It was a perfect Inn for us and the location was excellent. The new Bistro, which serves breakfast and dinner, served delicious and excellent food. We particularly liked the new decor which was very tastefully done.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ocean side are more expensive and it was cloudy both days we were there so watching...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a "green" hotel. Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Energy saving guest room controls Toiletries w/ recycled packaging ENERGY STAR windows
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear JoanBru: Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely Boutique Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

We’ve been receiving sooo many great comments on the New Decor, we’re very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stay often at the Clarion Del Mar Inn in Del Mar! It is a small hotel w/ great rooms and beautiful grounds! They have been remodeling and the new rooms are great! Big spacious bathroom, big enough for 2 people to share when getting ready! A nice enclosed area with the frig, microwave and coffee maker! No more making coffee in the bathroom!!!

It is close to Del Mar where there is wonderful shops and great eating establishments! The parking is great!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in the area for business or pleasure!

Couldn't want a better staff to help you with everything!

We LOVE staying here!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Debbie M: Thank you for wonderful comments on TripAdvisor; we greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely Boutique Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar.
We’ve been receiving sooo sooo many great comments on the New decor, we’re very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.

“The Wet Bar Area” is really a bonus on the second & third floors, a great added benefit for hosting and to those who enjoy their coffee without having to enter the bathroom to obtain water.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The good - very well appointed room with small fridge, coffeemaker, comfortable beds and bedding, very nice bath. The hotel rooms are very clean although the halls don't look nearly as nice. They have an onsite café for breakfast and a night time snack, sandwich or drink. The not so good - although you may get an ocean view the noise of neighboring a/c units will prevent keeping doors open to hear it. Also noise from surrounding rooms can be a bit much. Overall I would stay there again if in the area. I like more boutique type hotels like this and this is a very good one.

Room Tip: If possible get a third floor room facing the ocean. Hotel is not on the ocean so you need to be on...
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage 3rd day sheet changes and hanging towels to reuse but are fine if you ask for daily changes.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnhiwa-snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear mnsnapper: Thank you for wonderful comments on TripAdvisor; we greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely Boutique Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar.
You share what we’re doing right, wrong and most importantly, how to improve!

We’ve been receiving sooo sooo many great comments on the New decor, we’re very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.

I agree the Boutique Hotels are the best experiences found in today’s hotel locations.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Clarion Del Mar Hotel. I spent a lot of time researching hotels in the area on Trip Advisor so I knew to reserve a 3rd Floor/Ocean View Room. We were glad we made this additional investment

The view of the Ocean was indeed lovely. Although the balcony is small, it still affords a nice view and you can see a great sunset. I would recommend rooms 324-328, as these are not as obstructed by the buildings in front. Previous reviewers are correct, the parking lot is a bit of an eye sore, but we still appreciated the view from our room.

The room itself was very clean. Loved the Fridge/cupboard space. The bathroom was luxurious for two people! Lots of room. We had just returned from a beach motel in Encinitas where the bathrooms were very small, so this was a real treat.

I found the room to be a bit small/cramped, especially for two people. We made due though, and it would not prevent us from staying here again. The King Bed was very comfortable.

The pool/bistro areas (although we did not sit/eat there) was also very cozy! It looks like the ground floor rooms just outside of the pool area would be a nice place to stay as well; it provides a "garden" feel.

We really enjoyed being able to walk to the beach and into town/dinner. It's a good 10-15 minute walk, which we enjoy. The beach itself is perfect for swimming and long beach walks (which we did). We also enjoyed dining at the Poseidon Restaurant, basically situated ON the beach. You can't beat the view of the sunset from your table at this restaurant.

The staff at the hotel is accommodating. Although we were not able to check in early, I did ask for room #324 (I saw it was being cleaned/vacated). Cameron (???) at the front desk put the request in. . He wouldn't guarantee it, but he said he would do his very best. The Manager was standing there and I got the distinct feeling they are told NOT to guarantee anything to any guest (which I "get"). . . .but the room was vacated, and I was there checking in for two nights early. . . . so why not just say "Yes! We will assign you that room." Again, we were accommodated and very grateful. Cameron also took the time to call us (on our cell) when the room was ready, and allowed us to store our bags at the front desk while we went to the beach. This was done at check out as well. The staff at the Front Desk really provides solid service, despite being alone at times and juggling answering phones and checking in guests.

One slight complaint was the cleaning people were very loud in the hallways starting at 8am on Saturday.

We were so sad to leave Del Mar, and we will definitely look into staying at the Clarion for our next visit.

Room Tip: Definitely 3rd Floor, Ocean View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear LoisSedona: Thank you for wonderful comments on TripAdvisor; we greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely Boutique Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar. 3rd Floor Ocean Views R the Best!

Our summer sunsets are truly one of a kind, bright reds, yellows and blues, truly a sight to see.

We’re very happy you enjoyed yourselves during your visit from Arizona.

We’ve been receiving sooo sooo many great comments on the New Decor, we’re very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.

The newly renovated Bathrooms are truly the rage; guests can’t seem to believe how beautiful they are until experienced by themselves.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It is a smaller hotel, which is perfect if one wants a more homey feel when vacationing and very desirable if one is on an extended stay. The rooms seem current, everything looks newer and fresh and the views from either side are equally charming. My room wasn't facing the ocean, but I didn't mind. There's a lovely landscape that feels like a garden. The hotel itself looks older so it gives it an almost european feel while not looking run down. The bestro was so convenient! I was able to get good coffee without even leaving the hotel, and dinner if I was tired at the end of the day. I was there just about a week and all the staff were very friendly. I drive a lot while I was in town and the location was so convenient, it's just down the street from the freeway 5. All in all, a quant, charming, fresh, and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edurrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Edurrance: Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor; we greatly appreciate you sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely Boutique Hotel in our Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Ocean Views during summer months are increasable.

We’ve been receiving sooo sooo many great comments on the New Decor, we’re very proud of our newly refurbished hotel.

As for the garden area, beautifully landscaped and offers you a place to relax & enjoy all the hotel has to offer.

Our new Bistro has become a fast favorite for our guests as they no longer have to leave to enjoy great snacks and beverages, with or without alcohol.

I appreciate your comment of all in all, quant & charming, fresh and friendly place to stay.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
7.2 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing