We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Mar Races”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Great Location to the Horse races and restaurants and beaces, group of us came from San Francisco to hit the races. Great new rooms, staff, breakfast and ocean views. We'll return to this hotel again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank engine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 453 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had an ocean-facing room on the second floor. It was one of the renovated rooms, so very clean and bright. The king bed was comfortable. The bathroom is very bright with a large walk-in shower. Shower head was high enough for me (6'3"). Free breakfast was about what you would expect. The hotel is 5 minutes from I-5 and a couple from downtown Del Mar.
Note: Bathroom light has a motion detector with no way to shut off! I asked management and maintenance, and hey didn't seem to be converned. So, if you make trips to the bathroom at night, be prepared for a light show!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

It was a lovely week in my favorite town. I have stayed many times at the Inn, but not since they began a renovation. Our family stayed in a third floor room that had been recently renovated. It was very nice. The colors are calm and pleasing. My favorite was the large bathroom with the glass shower and large vanity. Having a fridge and a microwave was a great help. The pool and spa were great for evening swims. The morning continental breakfast is just okay. I will admit, I did like the smoothies. The patio surrounding the cafe was very pleasant. The cafe was good for a quick snack, but nothing more. We headed out for a full breakfast locally. Now a down side, the air conditioner. It's a wall unit. It does work well, but it is very loud. This was a warm week with surprisingly little breeze. The A/C was on all night long and kept us awake. The beds were fine, but I do wish they were queens instead of doubles. The staff was very willing to help us and polite in doing so. One thing my husband was concerned about was the lack of security. Every exterior door could be accessed by anyone. We will be back on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tikijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear tikijo: Thank you for a return visit to The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel. Always a pleasure to read a seasoned veteran’s comments; as they’re much more experienced with various facilities & comparisons to share with others.
We all hope you and your family return again and again.
Upon your next visit, we’ll have our NEW Bistro C Café open and operational. We had planned for earlier this year, but ran into some challenges to complete in time for the summer season. New opening date is January 1, 2013…
AND, even better to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Guests can’t stop raving about them – we’re very proud of our new rooms! Regarding your room AC unit, normally they’re very quiet. As I often personally check these units myself as I’m a very light sleeper & understand your concerns.
I greatly appreciate your comments regarding our STAFF; I believe they’re truly some of the most personable & professional individuals in San Diego.
Looking forward to you & yours returning in the immediate future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As a seasoned traveler I found the Del Mar Inn a perfect combination of great location, price and accommodations. This wonderful Del Mar hotel is a rare find. The rooms are cheery, immaculate and well appointed with quality linins and comfortable beds. The pool and jacuzzi are welcoming and surounded by a beautiful garden. The common areas, inside and out, are warm and inviting. Breakfast is included and the hotel is a short walk from the vast variety of restaurants and shops that Del Mar has to offer. The staff could not be more friendly, helpful and accommodating; they catered to our every need. We discovered the Del Mar Inn while plotting a walk up the coast from San Diego to Laguna Beach. When the proprietors, Mr. and Mrs. mackey heard what we were doing, they went out of their way to help us plan our trip; the best days to travel, the safest route and even booked rooms on our path. At the time we booked our rooms, they were in the process of renovating the hotel. By the time we traveled, we were delighted to see the results of their efforts; the attention detail, apmosphere, and cleanliness were impressive. We had a great stay, did not want to leave and will return often.

Room Tip: The ocean views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntiemean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear auntiemean: A really big THANK YOU for your ever so kind comments on TripAdvisor.
I speak for everyone involved; we were honored to offer all our resources to assist you and your lady friends for a great adventure.
It’s not every day we’re offered such a great challenge to assist and direct you for a fun & safe walk-a-thon to Laguna Beach.
It’s truly a pleasure to read your adventure was such a success.
If there’s ever anything we can do to assist into the future, please contact anyone of us here at
The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel for your next vacation & adventure.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We could have not asked for more on our summer vacation getaway. This hotel was beautifully
Renovated, clean, and spacious. The owner, General Manager, wife, and staff went out of their way to make sure we experienced all that Del Marr had to offer. Our kids haven't stopped talking about the fun they had, and we are looking forward to the following summers with this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Michelle B: Thank you, Thank you, and Thank you!
It’s always our pleasure to offer our best to all visiting guests to The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar.
It’s more than just a job, it’s an adventure for all staff members to assist and participate in our guest’s vacations.
We sincerely hope to have you and your family to return again, again, and again.
Hope to have you as our guest next year.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here previously and came back because of their amazing hospitality. This hotel has a great breakfast, had great views of the ocean and comfortable clean rooms. Their recent renovations are amazing. Even more bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashyo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Ashyo7: Thank you for your numerous compliments on TripAdvisor. AND, your great pictures!!!

It’s our hope guests like you will return again & again while we continue to offer the best hospitality possible from our staff & hotel amenities.

It’s an honor to read you appreciated our efforts with our newly renovated rooms. We’re nearly complete; when we finish the first floor Public Areas & Lobby we’ll be nearly done & ready for a re-visit.

Upon your return, you’ll enjoy our new Bistro C Café for outstanding food & beverages here at the hotel.
We look forward to you returning.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times previoulsy and the renovated rooms are far better than the old ones. The included breakfast is nice and better than what we've seen at other hotels (be prepared for a morning rush of hungry people, it can be very busy). Compared to other places we have stayed, I still find that the hotel is still over priced for what it is ($199 a night when we were there and it's neighbour next door was $299 a night when we were there, so welcome to Del Mar), the rooms are small and the pool is very cold (but the pool area is lovely). We found on this trip that the staff was not always on top of things, no pool towels at pool, pop machine not filled, breakfast items not always refilled, not all towels refreshed in room. The hotel is still undergoing renovations and you will have to sign a waiver that you accept that there will be noise. Try and get a top floor room, as we have found that there is a fair amount of noise transference between rooms (we found on this stay that many of the rooms had 4 people in them, so it was quite noisy). The shuttle is only for "corporate use" as we were told by the front desk, so if you do not have a car, they do not have another option for you. You can easily walk to the beach (about 6 blocks), there are many restaurants in Del Mar, so you will have many options for places to eat, our favorite is Del Mar Pizza, which is great for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear VancouverIris: Thank you for your compliments on TripAdvisor. It’s always challenging to complete renovations during high season. For any inconvenience, I do apologize. We service many guests like yourself throughout the year. And it’s great to read you enjoyed yourself while visiting America’s Finest City & our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

Upon your return, you’ll enjoy our new "Bistro C Café" for outstanding food & beverages here at the hotel.

We look forward to you returning.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.9 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Del Mar Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $150 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing