We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and absolute value in every dimension”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Camlachie Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence and absolute value in every dimension”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The Stratford is away from the madding crowd yet accessible to all your needs including a pleasant, comfortably upscale downtown with boutique plaza AND it's
just a two minute walk to stroll the ocean cliffs, hear the roar and watch the surfers.
The rooms, the pool, and the fitness centre are totally refreshed and the reception
staff are effecient, courteous, and down to earth--real people!
The Torrey Pines golf course is 10 minutes away, open to the public, and great value
for hitting balls on the range every day--loved that!
In essence, this facility is 15 minutes from downtown San Diego with a much quieter
and very beautiful area (including the very upscale La Jolla), and from our many years
of exploring the coast, an excellent dollar value that meets all your needs and does
not break the bank in the process. And new buidling to enhance the facility's offerings
including a restaurant are on the way.
And special thanks to Barbara and the whole office staff for the outstanding and warn
welcome they always provide!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keenCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for the great review, glad you were our hotel and the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    188
    79
    40
    20
See reviews for
123
189
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, NH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

There is much that is appealing about the Stratford Inn: the location in Del Mar is quite nice, though on a busy street. It still is situated in such a way to give a feeling of privacy and peacefulness on the atractive grounds. We found it very convenient to things we did around town on our visit. All parts of the property are very clean and the bed was wonderful.
The negative things, while nothing which caused us more than mild discomfort, still left us disappointed enough to look elsewhere in the future. Our room was very small and inadequately furnished. There was no desk or work area (they provided us with a lap tray) There was one deep, narrow drawer for clothes. When I called the front desk to inquire if there might be a room available with better drawer space, I was told that all rooms were outfitted the same and that they were undergoing a conversion to a different bureau property-wide. Was that true? I would be interested if management will respond. It would have been nice to be offered another luggage stand since we had to live out of our suitcases. The bath was quite attractive with a nice quiet fan but the towels were thin and the bathroom was cold unless you left the door wide open most of the time, so as to be heated by the bedroom heating unit. The room entry was alongside another guest room, accessed by a small enclosed foyer. Our door was so thin or poorly insulated that anyone speaking outside sounded like they were in our room. When our neighbors had family visiting during the afternoon, they had their door propped open while they entertained and my longed for nap after a tough travel day was out of the question!
The "deluxe" continental breakfast was not good. Their coffee is terrible, their OJ is not much better. They do have boiled eggs and fresh fruit which is nice, but they really have nothing there that could be described as deluxe. It is laughable that their website advertises "French pastries" . There was a mound of (formerly frozen) french toast in a chafing dish...is that what they were referring to? Coffee was so bad we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nd2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for your review, we do value all feedback. I have forwarded this review to ownership so they can see the importance of adding the items you mentioned to the rooms that are lacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Because of construction to our home, we had to stay in a local hotel for an extended period of time. Barbara and John and Alex and others welcomed us at the Best Western Stratford Inn for about five weeks and most often had chocolate chip cookies ready upon our return. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and made us feel comfortable. Since leaving we pass the Stratford Inn and have good memories of our "home away from home". Thank you for being there for us!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshapecaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing us for your home away from home during your own renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in November. We were really pleasantly surprised with how nice it was! We had a very nice room with hardwoord floors, everything seemed new and renovated. We loved that it was walking distance to the town, and the ocean was just 2 blocks away - you can walk on the paths along the cliffs and enjoy the view. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiteplainsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for the great review and being walking distance to the village and ocean is a huge plus; hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

was down visiting interning niece with newborn (she called can come now!) also geo-caching and poker chip collecting. teen wanted to see ocean, sleep, eat and have room to move around in. oh, and the net of course. this provided all we needed. HAPPY HAPPY! didn't even have time to use the full kitchenette. came late left early....boooo....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Sounds like you were very busy and so glad you had time to enjoy our hotel and area, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I loved the location of the hotel, in relationship to the beach. The bed was really comfortable, and I liked the design and decor of the hotel room. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful during my stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for the review; it’s always a pleasure to read what our guests have to say about us. Keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Really great remodel! Looks like a Marriott. Easy location for a walk to the beach, shops and restaurants and the grassy park at 15th. We stayed in the ground floor rooms that face the parking lot on the right, and my only complaint was that the cleaning staff parked their cleaning cart right outside our window and used it as their home base every day, which meant that we had to keep our blinds completely shut if we wanted any privacy. I would suggest asking for an ocean view room- I bet it is worth the extra $.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaloneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strat1, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for the feedback and I will look in-to the housekeeping cart issue, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.7 mi away
L'Auberge Del Mar
L'Auberge Del Mar
#1 of 7 in Del Mar
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#4 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing