We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace from standard IHG Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place in Del Mar, CA. Very close to town, the beach, and other services. Very quiet place, ample free parking, and very comforble rooms all add up to a very pleasant stay. We would definitely stay here again. We will also try other IHG Indigos when we can find them. The only trun off was that the restaurant was way to bright for us and so we ate elsewhere which is normal for us anyway. We generally choose locals to hotel dining rooms. So, not that big off a deal. Give Indigo a try. You will enjoy it. For dining try Jakes on the beach and for lighter fare & lighter $$s the Americana Restaurant on Main Street both, as most of Del Mar, are walkable. Oh yeah, one more negative is that appears the tenants and their children in the green apartments in front of this complex think nothing of using the pool and hotutb which off course makes it less attracive for the hotel guest. Kind of a turn off to use the small hot tub when 3-4 kids from next store are splashing around in it. Still a great stay

Room Tip: Seem like they are offering some very good deals right now. ask for an upgarde to an Ocean Side Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 526 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Did not have the best view from my room but as a solo traveler on business it is not required but I would suggest asking for an ocean view room becasue the view is wonderful.

The room itself is a decent size with a very comfortable bed, slept very well indeed on all three of my nights here. Shower was also excellent and it is worth mentioning the high quality toilet paper. Shame the second roll was not the same high standard.

I only ate breakfast in the restaurant twice and the food was good. The service on my first experience was les than brilliant, took an age to come and i had only ordered a fruit platter and a bagel. It took so long that the waiter actually came and asked if i enjoyed the meal and could he bring the check. The second time was seemless.

The location is alos excellent, close to teh beach but also a short walk to the restaurants and bars. Plus a decent farmers market on Saturdays.

The standout was the speed of the internet, it was astonishing,the best I have ever had in many years of international travel.

Staff are great, a little casual that this very common in all the restaurants I ate in, in and around San Diego! think it must be all the surfing.

So all in all a definite thumbs up!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must for those on a leisure stay, rooms out th eback are a little noisy due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've stayed all along the Calfornia Coast with my dog. Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Carmel, Stinson Beach, Mendocino to name a few. And none of them are as dog friendly as the village and beaches of Del Mar + the Hotel Indigo. Period. And no one has ever been as welcoming towards my dog as Barbara who works as the Front Desk Manager. Great Place, beautiful views, pools, food at the Hotel Indigo, close to the "main" street with plenty of dog friendly stores + restaurants.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, get a room with a view of the ocean. If not plenty of places to hang out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We loved our stay here. Loved the balcony, the view of the ocean and the bed was very comfy. Having a fridge was great for our beer and drinks. We ate the first night at the dinig room on the outside patio and loved the watching the sun go down. The food was very good. The crab cakes were excellent.
We had breakfast the next morning in the same dining room but we ate inside at a booth. The breakfast was good as well.
Would recommend an umbrella for the deck off the room so we could sit out in the afternoon.
Loved the town of Del Mar. Lots of cool shops and restaurants.
(The first of 4 hotels we stayed during our 8 night journey up the coast)

Room Tip: Upper level king with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our son was married in Del Mar and we directed several of our guests to stay at Hotel Indigo. Everything worked nicely. There was parking, the lobby and rooms were nice. The rooms were clean. The price was fair. The pool was attractive. The ocean view from the balcony was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel has been refurbished and is really a delightful oasis on the coast...location is wonderful ...ability to walk to great shopping and wonderful food,,,restaurant at hotel is GREAT...loved the ease and the choices....rooms large and accessible and had a room with refrigerator ....fan and microwave...makes for so much ease in traveling..People at front desk exceptional...helpful and full of great suggestions....truly a hotel we will look forward for a reason to return. Animal friendly and free wi-fi!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived to the Hotel Indigo for a wedding last week. The lobby is really pretty - loved the lights over the front desk. The front desk staff was super nice and welcoming. They have fire pits off of the lobby that overlook the pool which are pretty cool too. The loungers at the pool were quite comfortable as well. Location is great, you are only a few minutes off of the 5, and about five or six flat blocks into the main town of Del Mar. The room was a decent size, but, it seems like the room renovation may still be in process. For example, behind the door in our bathroom there was a hole in the door where a hook used to be. My only other quip would be the fact the room has pretty bad lighting, whether you are in the bedroom or the bathroom. Kind of difficult to apply makeup. For the price, I think this place is worth it. We did not spend a lot of time in the room anyway and if I had my dog with me, I would be very happy staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.6 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#113 of 286 in San Diego
634 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-3008 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#4 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $128 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending natural beauty with relaxed elegance, Del Mar is an idyllic coastal community, and Hotel Indigo reflects the culture and atmosphere of its relaxed refinement. Indulge in beautifully designed rooms and suites with ocean-themed art, spa-inspired bathrooms, and balconies with beach breezes and views over the Pacific Ocean. Embrace the coastal casual feel, contemporary style and eclectic boutique ambiance of our seaside hotel in Del Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing