We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a great hotel... convenient”
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“this is a great hotel... convenient”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here for a conference of my husband and it has some real pluses over the big resorts. The rooms were very comfortable and had nice finish touches like marble bath and dresser tops. All rooms had some nice books to browse and the beds are very comfy. The rooms all have outdoor areas with French doors with nice shutters - no drapes which is a plus for cleanliness. The hotel staff is friendly and the entire place is well maintained. Loved the mini cupcakes at the front desk. Pool and hot tub area is nice. Short walk to beach. Nice Lobby and gardens. They also had free internet which worked well. Only valet parking which is a pain. There are many places within walking distance so you can get around easily. I really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: South facing balconies are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    242
    96
    56
    40
See reviews for
199
383
28
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the second time Mrs H and I have stayed here . She like the prappings of a 5* resort and we both like an apartment so this is a perfect compromise . The Villas Auberge are wonderful 1 bed appts with Ocean views , well fitted kitchens ( no wash machine tho ) balconies and full use of gorgeous pool, excellent restaurant , terraces and hotel credit . We love it , 4 mins walk from the beach , approx 10 restaurants within 5 mins and very helpful staff . A real banker , a great find as is the town and what a beach .

Room Tip: Be aware of train noise the Villas are quieter than the chateaux
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186siezahedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you want to stay in a room that has wet spots from where the cleaners have just steam cleaned the dog crap and pee off the floor from the prior guest's dog ... you have come to the right place. If you also like the sound of barking "pooches" in the room next door when the owners have headed out for dinner, this place is also for you. But if you have allergies, you certainly should not stay at this hotel as the room I am staying in gives me hay fever the moment I walk into it and still has the smell of pooches .... I call it pooches because the hotel has a "pooch policy" allowing people to bring their small dogs ... pity this is not made clear when you book the hotel!!!

It's a real shame, as the hotel is otherwise reasonably nice and well located ...

Room Tip: One where a dog has not been staying for the prior week ... and one with water (not car park) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for allowing us to be your host during your visit to Del Mar. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was not a complete success and it concerns me deeply to learn that the condition of your room did not reflect a level of exceptionality. Welcoming pooches into our sea side resort is intended to enhance visits and never detract from them. It is in this spirit that we not only provide a pooch gift bag upon registration, but also provide a deep clean of the entire carpet and room after each and every pooch stay.

Again, I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and sincerely hope that you will reach out to me personally so that I can insure that any future visit to Del Mar is a complete success.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

romantic, the sounds of the crashing waves and passing Amtrak trains as I looked out of the window while lying in a most comfortable bed, clean room, afte taking a walk around the well kept property with lovely waterfalls and a bar where after my husband informed the bartender I was sick with a cold he made the best hot toddie a girl could ask for, we were surprise to find fresh cookies and lemon soda pops in our room when we returned.... Can I just say.............Wow
We loved it. My husband was a little disappointed because the sauna on the men side was not working but he got over it but still was disappointed. I didn't care for the paint smell in the building don't know if it was recently painted but it didn't smell like that in our room. My husband was offered a upgrade on the room thats why why could hear the waves etc. only downside this room was adjoined to a suite and the couple in that room were so loud it was as if they were directly in the room with us the walls seem thin already but the drunk couple with the loud music was awful, my husband called and immediately someone came up it must have been a women she knocked so softly the couple never answered eventually we heard the phone ring several times and they finally shut there mouths and turned off their music, overall great time

Room Tip: We had a corner room that had the best room but it shared a door with an adjoining room to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Elegant yet casual beach-cottage hotel that seamlessly melds its historical past with modern-day comforts. The terrace with daytime blue skies and ocean views promotes serenity and reflection and the nightscape with fire pits and illuminated waterfalls is stunning. Yes, it's not an inexpensive stay (valet parking fee of $28/day a bit excessive) but the graciousness of the employees and the accessible/desirable location make it a worthwhile splurge. We stayed post-Thanksgiving weekend; a relatively slow time for the hotel which no doubt added to the exclusivity and relaxing nature of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

with the hotel being 5 stars, we had a high expectation even before arrival and yet the hotel still impressed us. we had to change our reservation last minute and the reservation staff did it without a fuss or a fee.
upon arrival, the check-in counter also made us welcome and accommodated all our needs, including a crib for our 20month old son. room-service(breakfast) was delicious AND on time, which is very rare from our experience. maybe we were lucky to stay at a night w/o a wedding because noise wasn't an issue at all at our room.
overall, the hotel lives up to its star rating. it's convenient to many great restaurants and even a park for the kids to run around. highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarplumshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing this glowing feedback. Providing an unmatched guest experience is of paramount importance here at L’Auberge Del Mar. I am pleased to read that you experienced our warm anticipatory guest service and that this exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent a Friday and Saturday in this hotel that we expected to be a quiet getaway luxury hotel.
Huge weddings with receptions were scheduled both nights of which we had no knowledge. Our room with what we were told was a quiet private patio opened to the weddings and receptions. Not only did the weddings take over the lobby and bar area, but we were subjected to the amplified toasts of the parents, best men, etc. The loud music lasted until after 10PM (which was loud enough to prevent watching tv with our door closed). The partying lasted until much later. In the morning on both days half empty glasses were strewn all through the hallways and on the paths outside the hotel until late in the morning. This is not what we would expect for the price There was no consideration for the hotel guests. The hotel was making extra money on the wedding parties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oncolyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Property: L'Auberge Del Mar
Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing