We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect California Ambience”
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel has been recently restored and the result provides a wonderful, relaxing ambience suited to a California vacation. We stayed for 4 days. Golf at Torrey Pines is only 8 minutes away (we got to play both courses). The view of the ocean is prominent form the courtyard and from many (if not most) of the rooms. The walk down to the beach is less than 5 minutes. Our room (329) was not tiny, but not large either, with a very nice balcony overlooking gardens and a view of the ocean. Very well appointed with shower, no bath tub.
The staff were wonderful, friendly, attentive and seem sincerely interested in our comforts. We ate dinner twice in the Kitchen 1540. Food was excellent, fresh and creative. Two of Del Mars highest rated restaurants (Jake's and Pacifica are with a five minute walk. If staying in the area, this would get our highest recommendations, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

We are so happy that you had a fabulous time at L'Auberge Del Mar. Being in the heart of beautiful Del Mar gives plenty of comforts, such as a short walk to the beach or top notch restaurants just a short walking distance away. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 998 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am not sure why I am not giving it an "Excellent" rating, it may be only that you pay a lot for their well delivered experience.
We had a very nice weekend (Sat-Sunday night). Service was great, the room was well appointed and did not show wear and tear typical at a lot of hotels. If you have not been to the Del Mar area, you can't go wrong with this location. You are in the center of Del Mar with EASY walking access to shopping, restaurants, coffee and the beach; that is if you ever leave the resort! Restaurants that should be on your short list are Pacifica, Sbicca and Jakes!
We did pay to upgrade our room from a "Resort King" to a "Premier Deluxe King," for $50 a night which was a real bargain given the amazing views, 3rd floor location, in room fireplace and lovely outside patio area.
I would also recommend the bed and breakfast package which is a real value because not only did you get a $40 credit for breakfast but it also covered the resort and parking fee, which would have been over $60/day.
Breakfast was also a highlight - we had two delicious meals and they offer a lovely outside area or inside dining.
My wife tried a massage at the resort and was very happy with her experience.
Service throughout the resort was very good and we never had a poor service experience.
I look forward to going back again as it was a fun experience and I love the Del Mar area!

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades and packages as they can enhance your experience for not a lot of extra money / s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPOS_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is not "a" favorite, but "THE" favorite place to getaway. And being close to the Del Mar Beach (and Jake's Del Mar) is just a bonus. Okay, there is lot's to see and do within walking distance. But between the amazingly comfortable guest room and Bleu Bar, one needs nothing else. Really! The exemplary staff makes sure of that. ; )

Room Tip: From experience, the ocean view rooms are worth the extra $. But there is no such thing as a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy to hear you had a great time and refer to L’Auberge Del Mar as your favorite place. Our luxury boutique hotel is such a great haven for relaxation, enjoying the sun, surf, and excellent cuisine. Please come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Perfect location for San Diego sightseeing. Right across from the beach in Del Mar. Some amazing sunsets. Resort in much need of updating. Small fitness room, pool and spa. Comfortable and clean accommodations, but also small, especially the kitchen. Sits above Caltrans tracks, so rather loud when train rumbles through all hours of the day and night. Large drainage ditch just below detracts from view. Convenient reserved parking space. Extra $9/day usage fee.

Room Tip: Higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a romantic weekend here with the husband. Nature was on our side and the weather was spectacular so we drove here from L.A. with the top down on my convertible (it's a more romantic scene if you can imagine it without bumper-o-bumper traffic). When we arrived we were greeted with mini cupcakes at the registration desk. The views from the lobby to the ocean are spectacular. The lobby wall to the terrace restaurant is already panels of glass but on beautiful days they just fold them all back so the inside and outside become one.

The room (not an ocean view in our case) was large, comfortable with a view to a courtyard. We even had a little patio/veranda on which to sit with our morning coffee in their plush robes.

You could stay on site the whole time and relax, work out or use spa services. We chose to take advantage of the weather and walk around the "village" area, go down to the beach to watch the surfers after breakfast, then a couple of miles down the road to the Cedros Design District to stroll, shop and lunch. Great weekend. Great hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think it's possible to get a bad room here. Just know if you want an ocean view or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgsaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I extended a business trip by one night and stayed at L'Auberge for a night. When I arrived I went to the desk to check in. Unfortunately I was ignored as the only attendant at the desk was occupied with a very unhappy guest complaining about the spa. Understanding that he needed to give her attention, but she clearly wanted a pint of blood and he did not once stop to say he would be with me in a moment or ask someone else to help me. This was a real downer to be greeted or not greeted this way. However, I did check into my room which was lovely although lacked a view. The bathroom was small and did not have a tub. However it was a good size, nicely appointed with a good bed and sheets. I had both lunch and dinner on the patio. The view was stunning, service good andthe food fresh and above average. Sat by the pool for a short period and the service was good but it is a small pool and would not be much fun for kids or lap swimmers. I also really enjoyed my walks on the beach across the street as well as shopping within walking distance. While I only Ate at the hotel there seemed to be several close by restaurants that looked good. The woman at the desk complaining about the spa was a foreshadow. My manicure which cost 55 dollars was just ok and they made me wait over 30 minutes. The spa is not run with same polish and professionalism as the rest of the resort. Overall lovely hotel a which I would return to but would skip the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool views may be preferred but could be noisy at night due to pool and restaurant. Firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us; it’s a pleasure to have you. Thank you for your patience during check-in. Please let us know when you will make another trip to Del Mar and we will make sure you check-in is seamless and ensure you have an enjoyable spa experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After changing plans last minute, we booked a weekend stay at L'Auberge with only a week's (or 2) notice. We booked two adjoining rooms for our small family. Everything from the setting (beautiful views, convenient location, beautifully decorated rooms and inviting lobby, pool and outdoor restaurant) to the service was superb. We dined al fresco for lunch on the day we arrived. It was delicious. We lounged by the pool for a couple of hours before spending a couple of hours at the spa. It was heaven!

Thank you for taking just a few days of our lives and making lifelong memories.

Room Tip: We were advised that rooms by the pool can be noisy at night. Saturday night was "hopping"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Ann,

Thank you for your feedback. Enjoying our award winning spa and lounging by the pool all day is an excellent way to relax here at L’Auberge Del Mar. In walking around the property, the views of the ocean are certainly breathtaking. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 278 in San Diego
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $347 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing