We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location nice people... but”
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2012

So we read the reviews about the room selection ad should have paid more attention. We were given room 224, which is basically in the corner on the 2nd floor with people walking by and can see in your windows. It sounded like the hotel was moving furniture above us on the 3rd floor for about 2 hours from 7-9:30pm which is when our baby was trying to sleep. Not good. We complained and the front desk person did move us to a much better quiet room which was appreciated. Nice hotel with great staff but the room debacle lowers their rating

Room Tip: Do not take room 224
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 992 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is as beautiful as its website's description. I heard about the through the Vacationist website (they only feature premium hotels) and L'Auberge did not disappoint. The location is great. Its a short walk to the beach, shopping and various dining options, but you need not leave the hotel for fine dining and great food (must try the French toast). You also must experience the sunset view from their terrace. Its simply romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at L’Auberge Del Mar. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at our boutique property. KITCHEN 1540 is indeed a wonderful dining hotspot with exceptional breakfast! Our views are truly stunning and are a must-see while here at L’Auberge, especially from our private pathway to the beach. We appreciate you taking the time to respond about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

L'Auberge Del Mar has it all in a small package. Beautiful horseshoe layout gives ocean views from the patio restaurant, pool and bar. Food is top-rate and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. 2 minute walk to Del Mar beach. Perfect spot for romantic weekend or getaway with the wife and older kids. The hotel sits in the middle of Del Mar's quaint downtown section with shops and restaurants. 20 minutes to downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av8Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night at l'Auberge while visiting the area for business purpose. I had a very nice stay. I arrived late afternoon with a spectacular sunset illuminating the Pacific.
Rooms are very comfy, with a successful attempt to make them feel home away from home.
Bathroom a bit small though, that would be my only reserve. Nice ambience in the lobby bar and outdoor terrace.
Staff very nice and ready to assist.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC64Madeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you're looking for a great place in Del Mar that's close to everything, or has everything, if you don't want to travel once you get here: this is the place. I've been here many times, but it gets better every time.

Room Tip: Ask for one surrounding the outdoor patio/pool area. great sunset views from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenL318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Someone is cleaning in this hotel at every hour of the day. Not in an intrusive way, but if you pay attention you can constantly see someone dusting, wiping, straightening, etc.

I LOVE this place. Hands down my most favorite hotel. The rooms are so relaxing and high end. They also feel very private and romantic. This would be a lovely hotel to stay at for a honeymoon or romantic get-away.

Breakfast is pricey (probably $60 for two people at a minimum), but it is of an amazing quality. Fresh squeezed orange juice and extremely good coffee. Attention to detail doesn't end with just the rooms but also extends to the food, the views, etc.

If I ever get a chance to stay here again I will jump at the chance!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoweFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at L’Auberge Del Mar. We take great pride in having a pristine property that guests can enjoy and rooms that are exceptionally clean. We hope you travel to San Diego soon and please be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Going to Del Mar is always a treat especially if you get to stay and enjoy the town in the beautiful L'Auberge. We enjoyed everything about this hotel, even the train whisking by in the AM. The staff was fabulous and we had a wonderful time celebrating a friends birthday. We had a corner room that had the most fabulous view. We enjoy the smaller boutique hotels and this is one of them!

Room Tip: Corner room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 278 in San Diego
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range: $351 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing