We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SoCal Resort and Spa”
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great SoCal Resort and Spa”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is as beautiful as its website's description. I heard about the through the Vacationist website (they only feature premium hotels) and L'Auberge did not disappoint. The location is great. Its a short walk to the beach, shopping and various dining options, but you need not leave the hotel for fine dining and great food (must try the French toast). You also must experience the sunset view from their terrace. Its simply romantic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at L’Auberge Del Mar. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at our boutique property. KITCHEN 1540 is indeed a wonderful dining hotspot with exceptional breakfast! Our views are truly stunning and are a must-see while here at L’Auberge, especially from our private pathway to the beach. We appreciate you taking the time to respond about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    242
    96
    56
    40
See reviews for
199
383
28
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

L'Auberge Del Mar has it all in a small package. Beautiful horseshoe layout gives ocean views from the patio restaurant, pool and bar. Food is top-rate and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. 2 minute walk to Del Mar beach. Perfect spot for romantic weekend or getaway with the wife and older kids. The hotel sits in the middle of Del Mar's quaint downtown section with shops and restaurants. 20 minutes to downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Av8Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night at l'Auberge while visiting the area for business purpose. I had a very nice stay. I arrived late afternoon with a spectacular sunset illuminating the Pacific.
Rooms are very comfy, with a successful attempt to make them feel home away from home.
Bathroom a bit small though, that would be my only reserve. Nice ambience in the lobby bar and outdoor terrace.
Staff very nice and ready to assist.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC64Madeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you're looking for a great place in Del Mar that's close to everything, or has everything, if you don't want to travel once you get here: this is the place. I've been here many times, but it gets better every time.

Room Tip: Ask for one surrounding the outdoor patio/pool area. great sunset views from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenL318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Someone is cleaning in this hotel at every hour of the day. Not in an intrusive way, but if you pay attention you can constantly see someone dusting, wiping, straightening, etc.

I LOVE this place. Hands down my most favorite hotel. The rooms are so relaxing and high end. They also feel very private and romantic. This would be a lovely hotel to stay at for a honeymoon or romantic get-away.

Breakfast is pricey (probably $60 for two people at a minimum), but it is of an amazing quality. Fresh squeezed orange juice and extremely good coffee. Attention to detail doesn't end with just the rooms but also extends to the food, the views, etc.

If I ever get a chance to stay here again I will jump at the chance!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoweFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at L’Auberge Del Mar. We take great pride in having a pristine property that guests can enjoy and rooms that are exceptionally clean. We hope you travel to San Diego soon and please be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Going to Del Mar is always a treat especially if you get to stay and enjoy the town in the beautiful L'Auberge. We enjoyed everything about this hotel, even the train whisking by in the AM. The staff was fabulous and we had a wonderful time celebrating a friends birthday. We had a corner room that had the most fabulous view. We enjoy the smaller boutique hotels and this is one of them!

Room Tip: Corner room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from my third stay at this hotel. Although the location is excellent, the rooms are noisy and dark. The first night of my recent stay was a Sunday night and the hotel was not nearly full. We were given a room next to a conference room on 2nd floor. We had noise from both the conference room (at 6 AM when they were setting up for a meeting) and from the service closet that was adjacent to our room. We extended our stay to an additional night and asked to be moved. We were given rooms that were also near service closets. We finally were given the option of a quieter room and took it. This was a Monday night with very few guests. The front desk had the chance to make us really happy with an upgrade (we had booked through AMEX and therefore qualified for a room upgrade) but they made no effort to understand what we were looking for. The hotel has a great location and is well-appointed, but it is not the class of service that I've experienced at The Peninsula in Beverly Hills, nor the Beverly Hills Hotel. This is a 3 star hotel in a great location. The restaurant staff was also very average; wanting to hasten every tables' food order, it seemed, so the waitress could be done with it. There is no "glue" at this hotel. They need a General Manager walking around, speaking to guests, and giving the place some heart and soul to make it memorable.

Room Tip: We ordered breakfast in the restaurant and the coffee was cold. Toast was also cold when it arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your repeat business to our hotel. It is great to know that you consider our property as your premier destination and you expect outstanding service when you stay in Del Mar. We aim to keep our guests happy with extraordinary service, quiet rooms and a location that is second to none. I am very sorry to hear that you were placed in a room that was located close to where a meeting was taking place. We do our best to ensure that our guests are placed in quiet rooms, especially when there are events taking place in the various conference and ballrooms we have in our hotel. I’m also sorry you were not able to be upgraded when you checked in. Our hotel is a popular destination during the week and unfortunately many times those premier rooms with a view of the ocean are booked in advance and we may not be able to upgrade guests due to availability. I appreciate you taking the time to allow us to continue to earn your business and we will look closely at the opportunities you have presented to us. We will use your review to assist us in our ongoing training of our associates. Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our home by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Property: L'Auberge Del Mar
Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing