We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean front hotel with charm”
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean front hotel with charm”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The L'Augerge is a five star hotel on the water with small cozy feel. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The inner rooms have a view of the pool and the ocean with a lovely balcony. Great outdoor bar and fireplace to watch the sunset. Romantic place to spend with someone special.

The beds are comfortable and the room is quiet for great sleep. Lovely marble bathroom with glass showers and elegant ocean feel. They have an excellent wine selection and white glove service. The one downside is the gym. It's small and has no windows in the basement of the hotel.

The hotel is walking distance to shops and great restaurants in town and very close to Torrey Pines if you are a golfer. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoopersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    249
    97
    56
    40
See reviews for
205
395
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Immensely disappointing. Having spent hundreds of dollars on their named "Pacific View Suite" I was really cross that their "view" was of the Banana Republic shop and car park. Not the reason I traveled all the way to Del Mar. Spending the night listening to drunken hotel guests leaving by the front door and hotel valets talking about their private lives is not my idea of a restful weekend. As a Londoner I expect an honesty in hotels. If I buy a "Buckingham Palace View" suite I expect to see same, not some cruddy car park. Hotel did nothing to offset my disappointment and I will not be returning to L'Auberge again. Shame on them.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Really loved this jewel of a hotel. Not too big, on the beautiful ocean, reminds me of Shutters in Santa Monica. Rooms are nice with marble clean bathrooms, glass showers, delicious restaurant with excellent wines. Breakfast is remarkably good, try the California omelet with crab (real crab) or the Breakfast sandwich. The only negative is that the AC fans make noise, some rooms more than others, so make sure you get a room with a quiet one.

Room Tip: obviously those with an ocean view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaMcCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is across the street from a multi-level high end shopping mall and the light for that mall is also the light leading to the entrance of the hotel. I missed it and wound up in an underground parking garage, so stay alert for their traffic light. As you enter, you know you are in Del Mar with an immediate panoramic view over the hotel pool out to the Pacific. Very nicely appointed rooms. Ask for one in either the north or south wing on the 3d floor that overlook the pool. From any of those rooms there is an excellent ocean view. Not inexpensive, but worth it! Locals benefit from steep room discounts. Visiting from the East Coast did not earn us that benefit. ON weekends a wedding every day. Nice to watch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayHeadTravelinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently spent 8 days at our favorite US vacation resort. We have returned 11 of the last 13 years. The accommodations and staff continue to be superb. The on site food is very good and there are many excellent options within a very short walking distance. The beach and shopping venues....also very short walks..... are top of the line. The Del Mar races are within 5 minutes and San Diego area attractions within 15-20 min. driving time. We both continue to be 100% satisfied with each visit...and looking forward to next Aug. Romantic and refreshing!!!! One strong tip....get one of the rooms on the upper floors overlooking the pool and beach.

Room Tip: Great views from upper floors overlooking pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banditusma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

nice staff, nice upgrade to a better room... spa service was nice but overpriced. Great location with beach right across w/ few minutes walk. Very romantic for couples retreat and getaway
but got charged multiple times for things post visit on my credit card for unknown "fees" that i don't know why i was charged.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saradelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The L'Auberge is a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing weekend by the beach in Del Mar. We had a ground floor room with a large patio, where we enjoyed our evening meal of cheese tray, and seafood salad, both were amazing. Room service was fast and courteous, as was all the service. The staff is really helpful and friendly. It was quiet even though we faced the pool. The hotel is beautiful and there are plenty if comfy places to lounge, pool side, outdoor bar complete with fire pit. The ocean is right there to view, reminding you that you are on vacation. We took long walks on the beach every morning before breakfast. The food is outstanding, try the Meyer lemon pancakes, and the corned beef hash is mind blowing. We had massage at the spa, delightful, and enjoyed the steam room too. After that ,a stroll around Del Mar shopping. You don't need a car, everything is right there in walking distance. It is expensive though, but you do get what you pay for, and it is nice being able to walk to the beach. I 100% recommend this place, unless you are on a budget. Then you might try hotel Indigo down the street. We drove by, and it looks pretty nice from the outside, and is also on the beach. Has low prices too. But l'Auberge is the gold standard! Loved it! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We faced the pool on the ground floor, but it was not noisy. We had a peek ocean view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macmurphy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
7.7 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.5 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Property: L'Auberge Del Mar
Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing