We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in the Car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Sleep in the Car”
Reviewed July 26, 2006

For 208 dollars I should have slept in the car! They failed to mention that a train goes by every few hours all night and blows its whistle each time! Needless to say neither one of us slept very well. The bathroom needs to be redone as the sink looks dirty although it is just OLD. Cleanliness on a scale of 10 would have to be a 5. We had a notice on our car which was in the parking lot saying that it was to be towed if it wasn't moved in half an hour! Apparently they forgot to give us a ticket for the window. For the price I would suggest you move on down the road and try to find something cleaner and where the management cares. Because this is right on the beach they figure they can charged whatever they want and have substandard rooms.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — the cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    78
    21
    19
    18
See reviews for
62
70
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

As a return visitor to the Del Mar Motel, I'm never disappointed. Manage your expectations when you come stay at this very old local relic. Come here for the environment not the ammenities. Very basic but they do just fine. Clean sheets and towels with fresh paint throughout. We have been coming for 25 years and now with kids we return with friends from out of town for the perfect beach, close to excellent food, and plenty to do. Come here to experience local southern CA beach, local style. Don't expect the best ammeniites because you won't get them, BUT you are right on the beach, great for BBQs and walks in the moring or late at night. Definitely for kids or the young couple who just need a room to break up their time enjoying the water. Shop around, you can find a decent price too. Also, the rooms on the second floor are a bit larger than those on the first, parking is minimal so during the summer months even though its private for guests, some beach goers ignore the rules. Remember there is the local train that runs regularly that adds to the setting, if that sort of thing bothers you. Try Jakes next door, the Posiden is excellent or a short walk up the hill to more dining, shopping or just a begal and coffee. Enjoy, we always do...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2006

I just stayed in this motel and had a terrible experience. We dealt with staff who were rude, inconsiderate, just didn't care about you or your time there at all. My boyfriend hit his head on a wall-mounted air conditioner that sits right at head-height in one of the hallways--this can't be up to code. It's a nice location, but the place is a real dump. A train goes right by in the middle of the night--all night--blowing its whistle. Our room had a door that joined another room, and our neighbors were really noisy. You could hear everything through the door, and it didn't help that they blasted their music until 3:30am. There was no way to contact managment during the night for help. The rooms had next to no amenities; the bathrooms and showers were gross, even the towels smelled really funny.

Despite reading bad reviews here, I booked this motel anyway because it was on the beach. There are actually only two rooms on the ocean though, so good luck! Now, I agree completely with all the negative reviews, and I really wish I had listened. This place just isn't worth it. We will NEVER stay here again. What a horrible time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Del Mar hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2006

This place was great. When you're on the beach why do you need cable? We tell everyone how great the hotel on the beach was, and it was the only one. We got a great rate, and even descided to stay a few more days. Unbelieveable huge room, recently updated.
We will be back.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Del Mar on the beach. We thought the hotel was great. I have stayed in a lot of high name hotels and thought this was better than a lot of them. It was quiet and clean and we would definetly go back. My daughter goes to school at ucsd and we will certaintly stay here each time we come to visit. It is not a hotel for young couples with children but for the 50 and over group it is a great little find. In all the service was great and we had a nice relaxing week on the beach without the high price. There are plenty of superb restaurants within walking distance. Again it is definetly worth the visit to this quaint little hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joni o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2006

$225 a night for this dump.But hey, you do walk out of your door and within steps have your feet on the sand.I would not cook ANYTHING on the dirty grills outside.The carpet was stained and very old.Bedspread had holes in it and old.Ceiling fan looked like and sounded like it was going to fall out of the ceiling.Wall unit for aircondtioner had broken knob so you got only one speed, one temp.Shower was like a shower on the beach but older and dirty,towels stunk, bathroom was the pitts.Furniture looked 20 years old.We booked a double bed room early that day and paid for by credit card!(I was with my daughter and new son-in-law)and got a king bed.They said all the others were rented.It was late and we had no choice.I got a roll-a-way bed that they had the nerve to try and get $50 out of me when the room I paid for was now not available.If you want the sand stay here,otherwise go some place else.Look harder for a hotel on the beach.Who ever said this place was great has no eyesight, no sense of smell, lives in a tent and does not mind old filthy dirty rooms for $225 a night!PLUS I got a ticket for parking on the road because the FREE parking was full, when they TOLD me to park on the road.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We booked several rooms for a family vacation and were treated like crap. The manager changed the rates on us after we had checked in and had no manners at all. The grounds were dirty, and were not clean for a party that we had reserved for on the main deck (4 months before). The second floor balcony was not up to code for children (they can easily fall through onto the pavement). Our room fan was missing a blade so it had a strange sound. Stains on the walls, carpets, and tile. The shower burned you everytime someone in the Motel flushed. The train and the guard station is extremley loud. Our TV did not work, tiles were missing from the floor in the bathroom and the bedding had holes in them (our comforter also had a blood stain right in the middle). The carpet always seemed to be wet. There were no sheets for our childs crib that we reserved. It was not clean at all. There were no clocks in the room. We were really dissapointed and left early to another Hotel in San Diego and took a shower. Although the beach and location is great, it felt like we were in a cheap hotel in Mexico. New management is a must (people skills and someone who actually wants to help you) and they need to do something with their rooms. Yuck.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
100 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Property: Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Address: 1702 Coast Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-2154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing