We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good place to stay. We chose it for location on the ocean, and it was perfect. Clean, if a little dated rooms, funny lights going on and off, but enough space and clean bathroom with good shower. I'd recommend a stay here. Nice friendly checkin. simple and easy stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraz161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are fortunate to have an amazing location right on the Beach.
We are very excited that we are currently in the process of upgrading many of our and will be upgrading the remainder in the fall.
Again, thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    21
    19
    18
See reviews for
63
71
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family stayed at in Del Mar last weekend. The timing was great as the beach was not crowded and the water was still reasonably warm. There were several other young families staying at the hotel making it more enjoyable for the kids as they were able to make new friends.

The property is literally on the beach and right next door to the Del Mar Lifeguard HQ. We have 3 young children and we were treated well by the staff and the Del Mar life guards. The hotel was able to furnish boogie boards, beach chairs and beach toys that they had accumulated over the summer. This added to our experience.

If someone wants 5-star, this is not the place. If they want a great location and good value for their $ in a simple room then I recommend the Del Mar Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to Del Mar.

Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can't get any closer to the beach than being a nice motel that is sitting on the sand - and also has lovely patios, and balcony areas for you to sit or lounge and watch and listen to the ocean.
I loved it. Del Mar Motel is not fancy by any means. But servicable. Small TV - bed was fine, I always bring my own pillow. Bathroom is tiny - and toilets could be updated, but worked. It was a clean place to stay. And I will go back. (there is no fitness room that I know of there)

Room Tip: The WEST side I think is the best. I like being on the second floor. You can peek at the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at Del Mar Motel on the Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, our beachy rooms and our out-door, patio and lounge areas. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new castle, in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are from the midwest and have visited family in So. Cal. many times. We have stayed in several areas. Before our departure for our current trip we found out our favorite beach hotel in Malibu was no longer available. Very disappointing to say the least. After searching for a location on or near the beach we took the leap of faith and booked Del Mar Motel even after reading several not so good reviews.
That choice has proved to be one of our better ones. First of all the office staff and all employees are very friendly and helpful. The wi-fi is strong and fast. The TV is old but over 60 channels. The air /heating unit appears to be brand new and works fine. Also, the micro-wave and fridge that was a source of complaints also new. That God awful train that is a problem for some is barely noticeable . We are in the middle of a 4 night stay and are in love with this place. We think it is a great value for the price. As far as being "rundown" can you say quaint? This is the escence of the charm that Southern Ca. once had.
The location speaks for itself with restaurants and shops a 10 minute walk. If you want to eat in, a major super market for supplies is a few minutes drive. The traffic that this area is famous for is very light in comparison here.
If you are looking for the Ca. beach experience in a relaxing atmosphere at a very reasonable price we give Del Mar Motel and the area an A+.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We certainly are fortunate to have an amazing location with incredible team members. It is refreshing to hear how we exceeded your expectations and did not miss a detail during the stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a reunion there this past weekend and we used to go there every year for it but took a few years off until this year. We have to say, we were very disappointed with the service. We had booked several rooms and in one of the rooms we had called back and asked for it to just be one night but come to find out after we got there, they were going to charge us for two nights even though we weren't going to use the extra room even though we called ahead of time. Then they had the nerve to actually rent out that room that same night so they made double the money on it?! WOW... And then they told our group that since the parking lot was full that we could park next door in their parking lot. But that wasn't really true either as all of our vehicles that did park over there received parking tickets and the hotel would do nothing about that either.. Then the last part was that we have always asked for late check out there for one room and then we all move all our stuff to that one room so that we can enjoy the beach for the start of the day but they said that they do not even allow that any longer so we asked to see if we could at least set our ices chests out on the big patio for the day since they were kicking us out of the rooms and they wouldn't even allow that. The ONLY thing nice about this hotel is the fact that it is right on the beach.. Other than that, the rooms are not the best, and the service is horrible. After all of our times to this hotel in the past and the number of rooms that we rent out, I will now personally never bring our family reunions back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vbjohn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your stay with us in Sept. 2013. As General Manager, I need to know when our services or products do not meet our guests’ expectations.
In regards to a few of the items you mentioned, a) parking- we do inform our guests at time of making the reservation that we have limited complimentary parking. However, we did proved complimentary Valet service during the weekend of your visit, so I am not sure why you were directed to park in the adjunct lot; b) we occasionally can offer a late checkout, however, this particular weekend we were not able to accommodate your request due to our high occupancy.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Del Mar hotels

Temecula, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from a one night stay here with our four teenaged children. It was such a great weekend! The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom looks to have been recently remodeled nicely, although it did need a make mirror or more lightening around the big mirror. It didn't matter that we didn't have an ocean view as the beach is literally at your door. So nice not to have to park and drag all your stuff to the beach. They have a very nice patio area with chairs facing the beach and another one alongside the motel with picnic tables and barbecues. Definitely worth the money. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at Del Mar Motel on the Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, and our out-door, patio and lounge areas. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you choose this motel, and there are reasons to choose it, then don't expect to spend any time in your room. It is called a "motel" for a reason. The rooms are not glamorous in any way. It is a motel, plain and simple. You'll use your room to shower and sleep and not much else. For those two things, the rooms are adequate, but bring your own pillow! You'll thank me.

I call it a "camping" experience because you need to bring the comforts of home with you. Bring everything you'd want for a day at the beach. If you're not a beach person, there is no reason to stay here.

However, if you ARE a beach person, here's the good part: the motel is literally on the beach in an amazing location. You just walk out your room and you're steps from the ocean. This is particular wonderful if you have children. And the beach is GORGEOUS and the water is warm. I haven't seen water like this in a long time. We spent long days boogieboarding and surfing, then heading to Del Mar Fairgrounds for some horseracing, followed by meals and drinks on the motel's wonderful patio.

The outside, communal areas are clean and very well kept. Amazing views. Walk up the street to get your coffee and bagels, and then walk back to watch the ocean on the deck in the morning. Later you can BBQ on one of their grills or order pizza and eat on the patio.

The staff (from the parking attendant to the checkin desk to the cleaning staff both inside and out) were super friendly. They do their jobs. Since there are no amenities to be had and this IS a motel, they are not there to service you. Just know that going in. You gotta have the right attitude staying here. If you're gonna get upset about the little things, find another place to stay.

We will definitely stay here again because of the location due to its access to the beach and the nearby stores and restaurants on the main drag in Del Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barthish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wave Crest Resort
Wave Crest Resort
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Property: Del Mar Motel on the Beach
Address: 1702 Coast Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014-2154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing