We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Many Decent Choices in Del Mar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prepkitchen

Prepkitchen
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th & Camino Del Mar
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of Many Decent Choices in Del Mar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had lunch here today. Service was outstanding; that said, it wasn't too busy at the time. The waitress, Gwen, patiently explained the different and unusual menu items and was attentive throughout our lunch. We each ordered something a little new and different on Gwen's recommendation, and we weren't disappointed. Menu items $13 each; bottomless soda $3.50; rosé by-the-glass $9 -- pretty typical for tony Del Mar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celtlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate a late breakfast here. The wait staff was wonderful, food fabulous. Our waitress asked about what we were doing there. When we told her we were celebrating our anniversary, they brought us a free dessert with a candle. That was the icing on the cake to a wonderful meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvgoodfood59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Walked from our hotel on a Thursday night. Busy but still had a table for two outside. Upscale but still family friendly. I had salmon with tomato, corn succotash. Corn tasted like it was just cut from the cob. My boyfriend had the skirt steak. It also included the fresh vegetables. I guess we enjoyed our meals because both our plates were totally clean. Table next to us all ordered different desserts. Strawberry shortcake looked really tasty. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truenorth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pricey. Too experimental. Good Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Got it - farm to table, but that isn't a license to rob your customers. The food had better be amazing if you're going to charge a bundle and the food here is more hit and miss. Imagine sitting down at a culinary school for dinner - you're going to get some winners and some losers - but you can't expect your customers to foot the bill for your experiments.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun, lively, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The service was great and menu diverse; really difficult to choose. The beet salad was terrific, as was the chicken, reminiscent of the incredibly good brick chicken dish that we've had at its sister restaurant, Whisknladle.com. The date, blue cheese and bacon app was SO good, the sweet favors literally melting in your mouth. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Tagliatelle with Diver scallops, Meyer lemon and tarragon. I would not recommend the gem lettuce salad; it was dry, yes dry, and pretty boring. All in all, a really nice dinner.,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prepkitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing