We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey. Too experimental. Good Service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prepkitchen

Prepkitchen
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th & Camino Del Mar
Level Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pricey. Too experimental. Good Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Got it - farm to table, but that isn't a license to rob your customers. The food had better be amazing if you're going to charge a bundle and the food here is more hit and miss. Imagine sitting down at a culinary school for dinner - you're going to get some winners and some losers - but you can't expect your customers to foot the bill for your experiments.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun, lively, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The service was great and menu diverse; really difficult to choose. The beet salad was terrific, as was the chicken, reminiscent of the incredibly good brick chicken dish that we've had at its sister restaurant, Whisknladle.com. The date, blue cheese and bacon app was SO good, the sweet favors literally melting in your mouth. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Tagliatelle with Diver scallops, Meyer lemon and tarragon. I would not recommend the gem lettuce salad; it was dry, yes dry, and pretty boring. All in all, a really nice dinner.,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donc880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Del Mar Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our neighbors, who often dine out with us on Friday evenings, discovered this gem in Del Mar one afternoon, and brought us there for dinner recently. Like most restaurants in Del Mar, it's important to make reservations on Friday and Saturday nights.

I ordered the "Local Mussels and Fries" and the "Baby Gem Lettuce Salad" with feta cheese. The salad tasted as fresh and delicious as any I've ever had and I must say that the mussels are the best I've tasted since visiting the Brittany region of France way back in 1970. Just as in France, it's the sauces that can really make the difference in a dining experience, and here it was rich, creamy and smooth, a perfect combination for the mussels. They also have a wonderful wine selection.

We've been back with other friends since, and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves reasonably priced high quality food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfort Foodie/Brewers Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We bring the family...and it's worth every bite. My husband is a beer lover...and I adore my wine. This is the perfect place for the both of us. It's amped up comfort food make for an amazing meal. The staff sometimes can be slow...but it's not bad wince the atmosphere begs you to "Sit back and relax". We will continue to go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fresh food, outdoor dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

....and quite good. Service varies. The restaurant is quite small and the outdoor patio larger with ample space heater.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prepkitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing