We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good local Italian”

Trattoria Ponte Vecchio
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Ponte Vecchio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good local Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable meal here on a Tuesday night. There were a few tables of other guests and we were glad we'd reserved so I'd recommend calling ahead. I had pumpkin stuffed ravioli on recommendation from here which was very pleasant. We found it expensive for a local Italian but the food and service justified it.

Helpful?
Thank 05062586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Food But Poor First Impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This restuarant is easy to get to but hard to find. Did not see any sign indicating the name in front. We parked in the rear and saw a sign for the "rear entrance" - however, you walked past the trash and through the kitchen. It was a very poor first impression and would recommend walking around the front. Thankfully the experience went up from there. The menu was pretty extensive. The waiter had a very thick accent and was hard to understand what the daily specials were. I would recommend having them written down so that guests can understand them. I had the lasagna which was very good - not to heavy, but very good flavor. My colleague had the chicken saltimbocca and said it was also very good. The salads were good and large.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimsHusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great all around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great food and service. Try the calamari for sure, and the cheesecake is wonderful. Nice location to boot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Small and cozy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

When we arrived for an early New Year's Eve dinner there was a minor mix up with reservations, but they quickly resolved the issue and we were seated at a very nice table. I truly appreciated that kind of good customer service. This is a true Italian restaurant...old country dishes and they know how to make risotto the right way (it truly does take a while...ever heard of saffron!!) From the wine to dessert, and everything in between, we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the service. It may be small and cozy but the quality is huge!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinInaDavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, Good Food & Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all.

I took one of my employees to dinner, with no problem securing a reservation. We were given a very nice table (choice in our outside), had prompt service - attentive but not obsequious.

The salads are wonderful, with just about any choice of Italian that one could imagine. I had a mixed salad with crab/balsamic vinegret and my guest pear/gorgonzola. Both a hit. Dinner entrees? Pasta with shrimp (too much to eat it all) and a special chicken breast lined with some prosciuto and complemented with cheese. Yumm (and also more than I could eat). We took delightful cannolies (?sp?) home - an order is 3 small ones, complemented with fresh raspberries.

The price for two, with a glass of wine, was as predicted by TA-very reasonable.

I'm coming back! (Oh, and there is free parking in the rear of the building.)
ATBster

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Ponte Vecchio also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing