We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall!”
Review of Zel's Del Mar Cafe

Zel's Del Mar Cafe
Ranked #20 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North Hollywood
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great overall!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A very tasty breakfast in a beautiful relaxed setting. Luckily visiting in the off season as I imagine this place is packed at peak hours or season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,411 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful service...”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We came here for Sunday brunch yesterday and it was great. The service is really great here and the woman that served us was so friendly. We came late afternoon so it wasn't too busy. Just a few tables.

I got the Eggs Benedict and it was one of the best I've had with the perfect ham that was smoked. And the breakfast potatoes that came with it were perfectly seasoned. My wife got the chicken salad and she also said it was very good.

The location is great on the main street of Del Mar (Camino del Mar). It was quite sunny and warm out. The only slight complaint was it was a bit on the hot side inside as they had heat lamps above on. Several of the people were moving away from the center to the tables closest to the street as it was very warm. (But I guess they probably had a guest that was cold and asked them to turn it on...I guess you can't please everyone).

They did have tables outside uncovered as well.

Definitely we'll be back here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We go here all the time!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My fiance and I are locals and we LOVE this spot. The food is always fresh and delicious and the staff is amazing. They're all sincerely friendly and nice! The drinks are delicious- we love their mules, their beer selections (which vary by season), and wines! Their flatbreads, burgers, fish tacos, and everything else we've tasted there has been awesome. There is a very cool vibe at Zels. You'll love it! PS> They have a great happy hour as well!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great ambience and great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had a late dinner on a Wednesday night which is half price bottles of wine night. So, right there you start off with a positive! The restaurant has a bar area with TV, and indoor dining porch and an outdoor patio with fire pit. We ate outside under a huge tree. Service was very good. Had the chef's choice flatbread, ceviche, fish tacos and burger. All were delicious! My only negative is that they bring a bottle of cucumber infused water to your table for the meal and I think the flavoring competes with the food and drinks. Offering a plain water option would be better. Maybe they do, but we weren't given a choice. Overall, a very nice, casual place and a good meal with some creative menu offerings.

Helpful?
Thank bcmufam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“delicious fish tacos and more”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were at Zel's the other day and love the food the drinks and the service people is very friendly and the food is delicious, we loved the fish tacos, all the food is very fresh the restaurant has a nice terrace .We live in south Orange and will definitely come back to this restaurant if ever al Del mar

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zel's Del Mar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zel's Del Mar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing