We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch

Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch
Reserve with OpenTable
Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: The Poseidon Restaurant in Del Mar embodies the Southern California lifestyle, blending the ambiance of the beach scene with a relaxed and informal dining atmosphere.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
594 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beachside Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recommended by guidebooks and by our hotel, we came and found that Poseidon lives up to its reputation. It was a warm sunny day and we sat inside but right by the windows which were open to the beach air. Our server was delightful, friendly, and offered suggestions on the lunch menu. Food was delicious, the ambience was superb, and the service top notch! What else do you need? Oh, yes, the price was reasonable for beachside fine dining.
Great experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    235
    72
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Ambiance ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food with a great view of the beach! They offer a $40 3-course meal... So worth it! We ordered 2 different 3- course meals and shared! Everything was amazing! Service was great!

Helpful?
Thank SHAUNA_MADONNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
1 review
“Great place or lunch or dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great place for lunch or dinner! Sit outside on the patio of you can as it really doesn't get any better than this. Much better than most of the "foodie" style restaurants in Del Mar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to the Ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting San Diego and were brought here by some local family members. The ocean view and pounding of the waves made our dinner memorable. It was nice as they had heaters and it was a chilly evening. The food was good but the coconut encrusted Mahi even though tender and flaky, it lacked flavor. My friends steak was tender and tasty. The view and the sound of the ocean is well worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank 21PhxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My friend and I went to Poseidon to have lunch outside by the ocean on a beautiful day. This was my second time there but this time it was on Saturday and we were surprised to discover they have a Saturday brunch as well as Sunday 9:00-3:00. They were very busy. We were just in time to get an outside table for two up against the building. The Hostess was almost apologetic that it was just a table for two and up against the building and not out at the edge of the patio. It was a great table as it turned out. It was still an unrestricted view. Although it was a beautiful sunshiny day, there was a pretty good breeze and the building shielded us from the sun. I had to put my jacket on. Later as the sun moved and we got some, I removed my jacket.

We had our Bloody Marys while checking out the menu. They were good but not the best. They have both breakfast and lunch on the menu - a very nice variety. Prices very reasonable - more so than the regular menu.

I ordered an "ABC Omelet" (Avocado, bacon, Ortega chiles, jack and cheddar cheeses) with "house" potatoes and toast. Sooo good. I'm a very light eater and took at least half home. My friend had eggs benedict - she said very good.

The staff were all friendly and efficient. Even with two large parties having some sort of celebration. If you plan on going for brunch, I suggest you go before noon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch also viewed

 

Been to Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing