We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach, great ambience, tasty food...Del Mar favorite spot”

Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: The Poseidon Restaurant in Del Mar embodies the Southern California lifestyle, blending the ambiance of the beach scene with a relaxed and informal dining atmosphere.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On the beach, great ambience, tasty food...Del Mar favorite spot”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Recently had a great lunch....lots of folks on the beach, beautiful views and a happy crowd.
Food was served quickly and everything was right,
Grammy Sharon

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grammysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    252
    78
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food with a beach view”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Poseidon sits right on the beach in Del Mar. It's easy to get to, has valet parking, and also has metered parking in the adjacent lot (and more across the street).

The food was very good and the service was just slightly above average. I had dinner with a couple. We didn't take advantage of their 1/2 price wine special that night (I think it's a regular Wednesday night feature) but I thought that was a great offer. I was especially impressed that they had two very large parties on the patio (one of 19 and another of 60) and yet the service in the restaurant didn't falter. It was a bit disappointing that no one else could get a table on the patio however, because the weather was wonderful that night.

Anyway, I had scallops and they were cooked to perfection and served with a mashed potato accompaniment. The presentation was beautiful, as was the sea bass ordered by one of my companions. Our third party member ordered a number of cold hors d'oeuvres for his dinner and they served everything together as they should have.

The restaurant was very full that night so it was a bit noisy, but I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford, ca
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing view, delicious food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I love Jakes at Del Mar which is next door to Poseidon. We had our kids with us this trip and decided to try Poseidon as its a lower price point and seemed like it might be more kid friendly. We really enjoyed our meal. My husband has fish and chips and he thought they were average - good. I had a dungeoness crab cake sandwich with sweet potato fries and it was wonderful! Our table was inside but still had a fantastic view! Service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loverooshaandrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very California Beach Style”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Poseidon is directly on the beach at Del Mar. We love eating on the outside patio under the umbrellas watching the surfers and pelicans and children in the surf. The valet parking is easy and even if the lot is full, they move the car to an off site lot. We enjoy the "catch of the day" sandwich. Large and fresh and perfect. The fish tacos are very popular and served with all the usual fixings. The wine and beer are a bit expensive but not unusual for a beach front restaurant. Although it is always crowded, they honor reservations and do not rush you in any way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must when in Del Mar”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been dining at Poseidon for years, as we visit Del Mar at least twice a year. We have had several wonderful dinners as a couple and with a larger group. The food is delicious, never disappointing and the service is top notch. We have always enjoyed the specialty cocktails and unique wine menu. The view can't be beat, with the open patio right on the beach. Highly recommend for Happy Hour as well, if you can find a seat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmg723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch also viewed

 

Been to Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing