We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get any closer to the beach”

Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: The Poseidon Restaurant in Del Mar embodies the Southern California lifestyle, blending the ambiance of the beach scene with a relaxed and informal dining atmosphere.
Eastern NC
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't get any closer to the beach”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a great location. I felt like I was literally in the sand. Enjoyed the view of the beach/ocean. Food and service were both great. Portions were generous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyb10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    253
    78
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Must visit for spectacular view of Pacific”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for drinks and appetizers with friends from San Diego. They wanted me to get a flavor of a great view in a fun place. They succeeded. Service was very good, drinks well done and had a nice variety of choices for a light relaxed time with friends. The view is just great and I can see returning when I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining on the beach”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The scenery doesn't get better on their beachside patio. One of our favorite restaurants! Very popular place so make reservations. Menu offers something for meat/fish/veggie lovers and the service is friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duffy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
699 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Experience great food average”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Being out is a total experience. You can't have intimate fine dining IMO on a beach. But you can have a great night, with great atmosphere, friendly wait staff in a festive vibe. Can you have better meals...of course....but not if you want this backdrop. Keep it real, know you are going there for a great night for other things and a meal that won't kill you. The steaks were actually god for those who ate them, although I wouldn't go here for a steak. Stay away from pork chop, but the other fish entrees were fine...not great...fine. Keep your expectations in check, but don't not go here, even if for drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food & view!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my first visit to San Diego. We stayed in Cardiff. So we just looked on trip advisor and found Poseidon.

We had a short 15 min wait, drinks at bar and app delivered to table.

Duck Confit Flatbread $10
Pita bread, caramelized onion & apple, goat cheese, baby arugula in champagne vinaigrette, jicama slaw and spicy hoisin sauce.

We sat outside and at first were by the wall, then requested to move and after about 10 minutes a table left and he cleaned it for us to sit by the ocean! very nice, because I know it can mess up their seating charts for servers.

There was a great cover band of 2 guys. It was really good music!

for dinner I had:

Pistachio Crusted Sustainable Salmon $28
"Loch Duart" Scottish salmon, garlic-sautéed spinach, garlic mashed potatoes, citrus-pomegranate beurre blanc sauce.

I had a Riesling at first, and that's my normal white wine of choice but this one was too sweet. so I switched to a pinot grigio.

The food and service was EXCELLENT. The menu has soooooooo many options. It was hard to choose, my server picked my final out of 3!

I would tell anyone in the area to eat here. loved it! I was very determined to find a ocean view restaurant and was highly pleased with Poseidon. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitcat1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch also viewed

 

Been to Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing