We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Oceanfront setting, good seafood, too!”
Review of Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Del Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 15th street
Description: Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Oceanfront setting, good seafood, too!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A great sunset view. Ask to be seated near the window. The place was packed, always a good sign. The fish was fresh and cooked just right. Nothing worse than overcooked fish. I had the Halibut. There were a lot of choices of seasonal fish. Go for the clam chowder to start, it is great! To finish off the meal they have a famous Hula Pie dessert. macadamia nut ice cream pie, with chocolate drizzled over it and whipped cream. Sweet Dreams!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    325
    95
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Aloha place in Del Mar”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were treated like old friends when we walked in, happy hour specials
were fantastic, we had walked down the beach from our hotel and after spending
the next day sightseeing we went back and enjoyed the great atmosphere again !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special Occasion made more special”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I hosted her brother and his partner for dinner here recently following a visit to the Getty Museum -- what a terrific ending to a wonderful day.

A round of cocktails, an assortment of appetizers, 4 excellent dinners (all very fresh seafood), a bottle of sparkling wine and a bottle of Silver Oak Cab plus two shared desserts. The food and service was outstanding in every respect -- and I did not care one whit about the cost as we were on vacation celebrating our newly arrived at retirement!

Imagine my delight and surprise to find the bill including tip was about $100/person with all that great food and fine drink. A meal of that caliber in a big city would have been at least $600 if not much more. This is the type of dining that makes me want to live in the San Diego area. Glad we can visit regularly so we can go back to Jakes when we do.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Almost everything is awesome”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great food with lots of options... ended up ordering the steak and it was too much for me to finish :) Very nice beach and ocean view especially at night... The only thing I should complaint is the parking... I parked in the parking lot right across the street for 15 bucks... but it turned out it is actually much cheaper if you use the metered parking or their valet parking...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The perfect place to watch the sun set.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Jake's restaurant has absolutely everything to recommend it! From the moment we drove in to the valet parking ($4.00 only), to our first glimpse of the ocean from our table, to the greeting from the hostess and our waiter, to the actual dining experience, everything was perfect. We dined with friends, who are regulars, and can completely understand why they go back again and again. My husband and I both ordered the seafood pasta, which was heavenly. My serving was so packed with fresh fish and shell fish, that I took half of it home. The cocktails and the wine were delicious and the Hula pie split four ways was just the right way to end the meal. We will definitely return and introduce even more friends to this delightful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jake's Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing