We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Plate Club”
Review of Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Del Mar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 15th street
Description: Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.
Marina del Rey, United States
1 review
“Clean Plate Club”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were prepared for just a nice, fish restaurant in Del Mar. What we got, was a culinary surprise that left us chatting long after dining. I had the pecan crusted sea bass, and my mate had the mahi mahi special of the day. Both were excellent, although I think I got the higher marks. I actually cleaned my plate, which never happens, regardless of the item or presentation. And, a bit of added perfection would be the window tables, or our booth looking straight out onto the ocean. Jake's is a part of a chain in Malibu and on some of the Hawaiian Islands. It is worthy of a visit.....over and over again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    330
    96
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Beach Choice in Del Mar”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had previously eaten at the Poseidon next door when we found Jakes closed on a Monday. We liked it. We were on the patio, but someone must have been chilly, so they closed the area with plastic windows, which gave a very blurred view of the beautiful beach. We were seated by the clear glass windows at Jake's with a lovely view. Their dining patio can also be opened up in warm weather. Service was professional and pleasant. The food was excellent. We found it a step above their also very good next door neighbor. When we return to dine on the Beach in Del Mar, it will be at Jake's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chas1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant on a clear day”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is truly wonderful to have lunch or dinner here on a sparkling clear Del Mar day or evening for sunset. Very nice menu and although not inexpensive they do have happy hour during the week in a busy bar area. The service is very good and the food is excellent, whether fish, steak or the vegetarian options. There is valet parking which is convenient as the area is very busy during the summer and on sunny days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna beach
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“we love jake's”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

it is welcoming, the servers are attentive and polite, the food is outstanding and the view is spectacular and oh-so relaxing. we make the hour+ drive at least every couple months because we just love this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachminow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Beachfront Restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jake's really is "right on the water"! Wide selection of good foods . My friend enjoyed her chicken and I love my corvina, lightly crusted with pecan. Broad wine list, fairly priced. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDesertFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Del Mar also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing