We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely happy! Top spot for Asian Dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bambou Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Bambou Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
“Extremely happy! Top spot for Asian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise - I've lived in San Diego over 35 years and did not know about this place until a friend told me about it last week. The food was excellent - the service was friendly, and fast but not rushed. Every dish we ordered was fresh, wonderfully flavorful. (I loved the Lacque Duck, but the traditional soup was amazing too.) And it was all very reasonably priced - this is going to be a part of our rotation and a a place we'll take out of town guests to show them something special - great food, great service, that is reasonably priced and convenient to get to. My hat is off to them - good job!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of San Diego's BEST Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I grew up in the area and have been enjoying Le Bambou since I was a kid--whenever I'm back in town, it's one of my top food destinations. Great vegetarian options--try the vegetable ambrosia wraps.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaCay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent spot for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

In a quiet corner of a shopping center just west of the I-5, Le Bambou is fine for lunch or dinner, at reasonable value. Lunch specials are decent but could be made a little more 'special.'

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_D-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Revisiting an old favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

When my wife and I lived in Del Mar many years ago, this was our favorite restaurant. Whenever we visit San Diego, we make sure to return. The food is a delicate blend of French and Vietnamese cuisine, and everything on the menu is delicious. The restaurant has been family run since its beginnining, and the service is great. Try thr shrimp in spicy tomato sauce and the barbecue pork on skewers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quiet and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located just west of I-5 on Del Mar Heights Road this little eatery is tucked away in the corner near Vons. THe food is always good and it is quiet enough to talk business. I particularly like the Vietnamese dishes, like the clay pot dishes and the combination salad. Neil is the waiter and he is great. I eat here about once a week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bambou Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Le Bambou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing