We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!!”
Review of Sbicca

Sbicca
Reserve with OpenTable
Sbicca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camino Del Mar
Transit: Camino Del Mar at 15th
Description: San Diego's favorite "Neighborhood" restaurant. Located in beautiful, quaint Del Mar and winner of the "Gold Medallion Award" for Best Neighborhood Restaurant awarded by the San Diego Chapter of the California Restaurant Association. Dine up on the Ocean View deck and take in the blue pacific while enjoying our award winning cuisine or sit on our ocean view sidewalk cafe and sip on one of our Wine Spectator award winning wine list wines.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Always Great!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have eaten here for years and keep going back-interesting and high quality. Very innovative menu and a good selection of wines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hunter003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    112
    31
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Quintessential Del Mar! A fun place to hang out on a weekend AM and enjoy the patio seating and great food. The hash, the bene's and omelette were all great. The popovers and homemade jam kick your brunch off and the view is fun. The service is good, not great, but doesn't get in the way of you having a great brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenDelivers411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fine wine list, professional staff I think best South of LA”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Informal, mostly outdoor restaurant in the center of Del Mar. Food beautifully prepared, menu changes close to daily, attentive, helpful staff. Meats cooked exactly to your wishes, prices reasonable for what you get. Very fine wine list by glass or bottle. Lovely place to bring a family, children nicely treated, everyone comfortable. Lunch, dinner and breakfast (at least on weekends). One lunch I had the best hamburger I ever had in my life, medium rare. You are made welcome immediately.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Casual dining experience with good food and dependable service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sbicca is a treat in the center of Del Mar. Unpretentious dining experience in a smaller quiet setting spread out over several areas. The rooftop is nice for afternoon views of the ocean. And we've also had working business lunches there by requesting a quieter table inside (underneath the rooftop dining area).
Nice wine list and all bottles are half off on Tuesdays and Thursdays!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler_D-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Del Mar Treat”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

For a casual & well-done restaurant for lunch, you should try Sbicca. Not only is it an interesting spot to people watch, it has an exciting luncheon menu & thoughtful wine list. Last week, we stopped by for an enjoyable lunch (my wife & Standrad Poodle, Annie Little Tail).

My wife ordered the Roasted Beet Salad. I odered the 8 oz Sbicca Burger w/ fries. (Annie had water, which was provided, & I also think they may have a doggie menu, but I could be wrong.) Each of our lunches were delicious.

Please let me add, if your in the mood for a nice red wine, the 4 Vines "old Vine Cuvee" Zin should do just fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agolfpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sbicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing