We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant and food”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went for a dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the restaurant is located by the ocean and has a fantastic view....the restaurant staff were brilliant and the food was good....I have had better food but the service and ambience made it into a top notch experience.....quite recommend this one....especially if it is an occasion...also ensure you book in advance

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Punit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    81
    37
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot for happy hour”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The restaurant is in a great location in the Del Mar Plaza with an ocean view and yesterday we had a great sunset. They have happy hour most of the year except for horse racing season when Del Mar is too crowded to be fun. Happy hour is from 4-6pm Monday-Friday when house wine, some specialty drinks, 3-4 different pizzas and a couple of other appetizers are $5. Best deal around and the pizzas are delicious. They also make their bread which is wonderful hot with EVOO and balsamic vinegar. Jesse is a great bartender and good at whipping up the specialty drinks. The plaza offers parking with validation free for two hours so that is handy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant and what a find it was! The view of the sparkling Pacific was awesome. I can't say enough about the service and food. Everything about this restaurant was excellent and we'd certainly go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda and Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very busy restaurant in a shopping centre overlooking the pacific. Staff and service were good but thefood was very average indeed.

I ordered bean and kale soup which I had to send back, teh kale was overcooked and slimy, the beans totally raw. I am sure the soup was looking low and they decided to bulk it out with new tin of beans and some water.

I had teh cod for mains, the fish was good but swimming unnecessarily in tomato sauce.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Buongiorno,
I want to thank you for your Open Table review, we highly appreciate your feedback.
I wanted apologize about your experience , please feel free to contact me, or any other manager, we really appreciate your business and we want to make sure you will be back.

Have a wonderful day!

Walter Scotto
Il Fornaio Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Decent meal at a decent price”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal here the service can make or break your evening and everything our server did was excellent ; Thank you Annabell (I love your hoop earings) .. we enjoyed ourselves on the covered outdoor patio ....First class all the way...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiumes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing