We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Double Happiness

Double Happiness
Ranked #35 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the authentic Chinese food and soup. The small place is clean and well organized. Their service is friendly and prompt. Will come back next time.

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have passed this place several times and noticed it to be pretty busy, One evening while in the area we decided to stop in and give it try. The first impression was a small old school type of place, Do not let that tun you away. The entire meal was a great experience and every dish was very good. If you are looking for a fancy looking place to go with good food this is not your place. I I always go for good food over decor. They have your typical range of selections and some nice specials for the night. I noticed a nice lunch special for during the week , , Staff is friendly and always on the run. If you are in the area give it a try ,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unless you like overly fried and super oily food- skip this crap.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Nothing was brought out at the same time- at all. Everything and I do mean everything was fried. Ok ok, I get it- Chinese food is not suppose to be healthy- but not everything is suppose to be fried till its tooth rattling crunchy. Helpings were huge- which would be a plus if the food was diserable... But it was not. My chicken fried rice was soaking in the oil it was cooked in, the pupu platter was mystery meat wrapped in tin foil, and the others were less than tasty. Skip this place even if the price is great- it is icky! Service isn't so great either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventuregal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
341 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Small place, efficient service & very good food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had very enjoyable meals. I had the crispy garlic shrimp. It was spicy and delicious. My partner had hot and sour soup and curried chicken. The soup wasn't the best ever but was good. The curried chicken was also good. A generous helping of rice accompanied the meal. Servers were very speedy and refilled water. All workers were friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank richie1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gran fondo weekend”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good take out, resonable pricing. We walked down there from Hotel Indigo, placed an order and it was ready in 10 min. Got it back to the hotel and ate. Good chinese take out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZdreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Happiness also viewed

 

Been to Double Happiness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing