We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little restaurant with a good menu selection”
Review of Bully's

Bully's
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Del Mar
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant with a good menu selection”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We ate here when meeting up with family while visiting California. Great location in Del Mar and easy to get a table during the weeknight when we visited. The waitresses were very helpful but service wasn't outstanding after we ordered. The atmosphere is excellent and they have a great selection to choose from on their menu. My husband and I shared the prime rib for two. The prime rib is cooked as one cut so you can't order it as two different temperatures. We picked this restaurant based on the reviews of their prime rib. We were not as impressed as we had hoped. The prime rib lacked flavor but was a nice cut of meat. Other people with us had the steak sandwich and they said it was fantastic. After our dinner and before leaving, the waitress started to sweep the floor and it was very loud and distracting. We were disappointed that this couldn't have waited a little longer because since the restaurant is so small, it was hard to hear people across the table talk and it was still at least 45 minutes before their closing time. Recommend, but may be a hit or miss.

Great bread while waiting for meal

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    8
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont order to go~!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Couldnt get waited on for an order to go! Maybe they like the horse jokeys from the nearby racetrack instead of return customers. NEVER AGAIN!! Go to Miltons (better food and cheaper too!)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shelbyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For Prime Rib This is the bar! Anything else falls well below!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Prime Rib for two is the bar for Prime Rib! Nowhere on earth compares! Be certain to enjoy their onion soup and their burgers for lunch are equally spectacular! Want to meet people at the bar? Sit in the penalty box up front! You will meet half of Del Mar on a Weekend! For get dressing up! Bully's is casual and down to earth there is no room for snobs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddy511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bully! for Bully's.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bully's has been in Del Mar for decades and has some of the best prime rib and steaks in town. The Bar is always full of locals especially during racing season. One of the best meal bargains in Del Mar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatentShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Local Icon For Steaks and Drinks”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is where it is at, and where the locals go. The steaks here are very good, and some cuts are thick. The bar is a fun place for a conversation. There are some very smart people that are regulars here, and it's a place for old money people. I highly suggest dressing high end in an understated way. This is not a place for flip flops or glitz and glam. It's almost a bit like what you may find in Boston or Napa. I love having a meal here then chatting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CLiechtenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bully's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing