We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location!”
Review of Wave Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wave Crest Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been visiting Wave Crest for 27 years and absolutely love it! The resort is within walking distance of restaurants, shops, the post office and of course, the beach! Many of the rooms have an ocean view, some will lull you to sleep with the sound of the waves breaking to shore at night.

Anyone concerned with the mattresses should be aware that the resort has just replaced them all. Can't advise you on anything to help with Amtrak passing a few times a day, we consider it part of the charm of the resort. Resort staff are friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

For those unhappy with the train, try something further from the beach. The Coaster tracks run along the beach for all of Del Mar.

FYI - this resort has studio, one and two bedroom units.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SrGrammyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a nice resort in DelMar and we enjoyed our stay. We had a studio with a murphy bed which was not very comfortable. The kitchen was adequate. The pool water wasn't very clean....there were alot of bugs in it...not sure how often it got cleaned. I don't know if I would stay again but being by the ocean and being able to sit outside and listen to the waves was worth it. The trains that go by are very loud....be prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laddiesmuma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First to address the low ratings. The issue with bed quality is very subjective, I’ve had better and I’ve had worse, enough said. As for construction nearby – none happening my visit, plus that is not their issue unless it is at their facility. Noisy because of train? Then don’t stay along the coast where the Coastal and Amtrak runs, tracks have been there longer and it was not that loud. No even an hotel? That’s right – it’s a TIMESHARE. No A/C – again, look where you’re at, most place and even the homes do not have A/C.

The grounds are well kept, the plants reminded me of Hawaii. Location can’t be beat – easy walk to ocean, parks, restaurants & shopping. Happen to get there for a heat wave – Kept all windows opened with a fan in one window and both ceiling fans running 24 x 7, this helped a lot. The place is starting to show some wear in the individual units. If you read the web site, the owners have decided to defer increasing costs over some external updates – remember this is a timeshare. Would I come back again? You betcha!

Room Tip: Keep in mind, rooms with view of Ocean also means train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I hoped that the Wave Crest would meet my expectations but I was wrong. It surpassed them!! The place has a million dollar view. Who doesn't want to wake up and look out at the surfers lining the coast. We lucked out by getting one of the 2nd story studios that had a balcony...there are only 2. Our room was agreeably a bit dated, but more than spacious enough. Large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, dining room table, flat screen tv. The grounds were meticulously landscaped. There were 3 large bbq's to use in the pool area. I took advantage of the free laundry facilities, beside the pool area. Laundry detergent $1. Multiple restaurants within easy walking distance along with shopping in quaint, colorful stores. The shoreline and beaches were beautiful and the sunsets were breathtaking. I would recommend this spot to anyone and can't wait for the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melmay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The staff is great and friendly and help you when you ask, the pool is great and there is nothing better to sit in a hot tub and look out over the ocean, the beach is in walking distance and there is plenty of things to do and places to eat! I recommend Wave Crest to everybody!

Keegan Biggers

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Other reviews hit the nail on the head. Not a bad spot for a stay if you just want quiet walks, pool, watch ocean activities. When I arrived the room was too hot so I asked for an upgrade. Was told none of the rooms have A/C so stayed with the room given. ( Was told most places in the area do NOT have A/C as temps hang around 70 all year). The ceiling fans did a good job. It was the first week of Oct. I am not so sure how it would be if there are hotter times. ( see picture)
Would I go back? Yes as it is a great ocean location.
Its a nice 2 hour drive to Palm Springs / Palm Desert from here. Worth a day trip.
Olde Towne part of San Diego is quaint and 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: If you have a unit with kitchen, best grocery store is VONS,10 minutes by car. Enroll as a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

It is better than camping, but the staff is not friendly, guessing it is because they have to micromanage all the rules, very strict letter of the law kind of place, very poor bed quality. There are not lots af choices in this area, so the location is its only draw.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cruisinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
0.3 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#7 of 7 in Del Mar
109 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Crest Resort

Address: 1400 Ocean Ave, Del Mar, CA 92014-2337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range: $200 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wave Crest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Mar Village is only two blocks from Wave Crest Resort, yet when you're at this private seaside retreat overlooking the Pacific everything else melts away! Wave Crest Resort offers studio suites as well as one and two bedroom bungalows featuring complete kitchens, flat-screen televisions, tile counter tops, and private patio or balcony with glass doors that welcome in the sea breezes. In addition to these amenities, the resort offers a swimming pool with an ocean view, jacuzzi, barbecue grill and onsite laundry. A Daily Resort Fee of $12 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Wave Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Crest Del Mar Hotel Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing