We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Stuff”

Tio Leo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Welcome to Tio Leo's Mexican Restaurant! Tio Leo's has been one of San Diego's most loved Mexican Restaurants for over 32 years. We love our guests, and offer a variety of menu options to suit all walks of life! And for your special event, see our famous Mexican Catering Menu. Tio Leo's Del Mar has lots of meeting space for large groups and we can accommodate everything from Corporate meetings to Quinceaneras!
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Standard Stuff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

You get a lot of typical Mexican food at Tío Leo's for not much money. The service runs anywhere from friendly to ok to surly (I overheard friendly; my server was ok, the assistant, surly). The menu contains a large selection of what one expects from a San Diego-based Mexican restaurant. There are zero surprises. I had the cheese enchilada plate. Very cheesy, rice & beans. Not bad, not great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizaTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    25
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Margaritas made the difference”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in one of the adjacent hotels so visited a few times... obviously convenient, but it was the margaritas that brought me back. The first meal was okay, burrito and enchilada. Next two visits had carnitas and carne asada... very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SemperBj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok in a pinch”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Food was "OK". I carried out so maybe not the best position to review. Waited a about 20 minutes for my food.
Probably should eat in to be honest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Needs a facelift, but the food was pretty good”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food was pretty good, but the inside of this joint could use a fresh coat of paint and some new furnishings. Check out the San Diego skyline photo when you walk in on the left, it looks like it was taken in the early 80's because there are virtually no tall buildings downtown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good variety menu and all the usual Mexican specialities on offer. Tasty but could be a little hotter for me. Beer on tap was a little flat . Efficient service however.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Braveliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Leo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tio Leo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing