We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”
Review of Smash Burger

Smash Burger
Ranked #37 of 93 Restaurants in Del Mar
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stopped in here several times, yet to try the burgers as I'm a sucker for their grilled chicken sandwiches, my favorite being the avocado club. The chicken is always so moist and perfectly cooked and the fixings are always fresh, nice looking and tasty. I've tried the various sides of fries, haystack onions and none of them does very much for me. Good location although parking can be tough if you arrive at the wrong time

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Doesn't fit in”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Somehow I get feeling this place doesn't fit in amongst the snobbery that is Del Mar. The shocking red umbrellas outside almost blind you and they really contrast against everything else. The burgers are ok and it was cool to drink a beef on the patio and watch the birds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fine fast food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I come from England where the place is infested with "Gourmet Burger this" and "Handmade Burger that" chains, none of which can manage a simply hamburger as well as this unpretentious and unashamedly fast-food joint.

Started in 2007, and already at locations across the United States, Smash Burger prides itself on a cooking technique that seems them squash (or Smash, as they would have it) a meatball into a patty. Maybe it's all marketing bull - but the resulting burgers are delicious. They have a small rang of traditional burgers (plain, bacon cheese, bbq, mushroom-swiss etc, plus chicken and veggie options) costing between 6 and 7 bucks a pop.

I had a Classic Smash with Smash Fries, and it was excellent. Succulent meat, fresh salad, good bun. I accompanied it with an Oreo malt shake, and while it tasted great it was served along with the metal mixing container - soda-fountain style - but the container had only an additional mouthful in it - rather than the extra glass-full that mom-and-pop diners tend to give. The shake was underwhelming, and I think Smash Burger would be better ditching the cost of the Häagen Dazs licence, and getting some good local ice-cream and delivering a better value shake.

On reflection the shake was a mistake - Smash also server local raft beers and fountain drinks. But the burger was as good as you'll get in a fast-food outlet. If it was not for the lacklustre and stingy shake, this would be a sold five star fast food experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food good prices”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We go there every time we are in Del Mar. The burgers are good at a very reasonable price. I love the smashfries! They have a pretty large menu, it's a pretty simple restaurant, but better than any other fast food chains. They are in a good location just blocks from the beach, with outdoor dining.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eli09Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good burgers-check it out!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were looking for a quick, inexpensive dinner. Parking free with validation. They have two sizes of burgers. Several burgers designed to appeal to different tastes. One can also simply order a burger the way one prefers it. No frozen beef is their claim to fame. The veges inside the burgers were fresh and crunchy. The place appeared simple and clean. I would go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tukwilaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smash Burger also viewed

 

Been to Smash Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing