We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional gluten-free dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Del Mar Rendezvous

Del Mar Rendezvous
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Mar Rendezvous is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Paseo de las Flores
Description: From the creator of the famous Dumpling Inn on Convoy Street, Del Mar Rendezvous has been enticing San Diegans with its wide array of Chinese fare complimented by a modern mix of Asian flavors for over a decade. Rendezvous boasts craft, local, and high-end import beer on draft, Japanese sakes, as well as a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence wine list with over 100 wines all at the Best Price in San Diego everyday. With over 100 different dishes on its menu, Rendezvous also caters to both gluten-free and vegetarian guests with over 40 dedicated options to choose from on each menu. The ambiance of the interior and patio, with glimpses of the Pacific Ocean, offer a calming and inviting atmosphere, perfect for date nights, business
san diego
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exceptional gluten-free dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Always accomodating. Superior service and food.
Our budget especially appreciates the regular specials.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank disimilar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    47
    22
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip advisor was dead on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The reports from trip advisor indicated the food and service would be great and it was spot on! The restaurant and service exceeded out expectations. Go ... You won't be disappointed.
Enjoy. Best Asion food we've had.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
373 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“1/2012 - Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We were staying at L'Auberge and ate an evening meal at at the Rendezvous, which is directly across the street from the hotel. It was "Restaurant Week" and we had some nice choices on the pre-fixed menu not regularly available. My wife had the seared ahi and lobster/corn chowder, and I also had the ahi and glazed walnut shrimp. Mango Sorbet is to die for!!! Service was equally great. Reservations after 6:00pm are a must. I seemed to us that a lot of locals came here. Larry & Kelly, Georgetown TX

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We like Rendezvous for their interesting and delicious food

Helpful?
1 Thank WayneDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy and always good Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have eaten many times at Rendezvous in Del Mar. I have also introduced numerous foodie friends to Rendezvous. The consensus is always that the food, service and beverage selections are top notch. On a recent visit that all remained true. I almost hate to reference any particular dishes as the menu is varied and pretty creative. Having said that, the Governor's Chicken and one of the two grilled steak dishes are always among the group's selections; the ahi and the dumpling starters are also favorites. But everything I've tried has been well prepared. Wednesday and Sunday nights also feature half-priced wines, some nice labels at "bargain" restaurant prices. You cannot go wrong with Rendezvous. I say all this without any relationship with the owners or staff. Since word is out, it's wise to make a reservation if visiting during busy evening hours.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBTripTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Mar Rendezvous also viewed

 

Been to Del Mar Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing