We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't come for Asian food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cindy's Restaurant

Cindy's Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 197 Restaurants in Davis
Cuisines: American, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sacramento
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't come for Asian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Cindy's in Davis is basically your local diner. It serves American lunch and breakfast, but Thai food for dinner. Service is outstanding, and you can stay as long as you wish. The quality and taste of American food is above average. I chose the Garlic eggplant from its Thai dinner menu; as the entree is described, it sounds like stir-fried Szechuan Eggplant in Chinese Restaurants. However, it was tasteless and lacked the "spirit of the wok", as the sauce was watery. Rice always costs extra. I would not recommend any Thai food here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sccfsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cindy's is just off Mace Blvd in Davis, and is a great little find. It has breakfast all the time, and American and Thai fare beginning at noon. We had dinner for 5 and the bill was about $60. I had the ground chicken-coconut-dish with great flavors--my grandson loved his giant hamburger. The service was good and the manager very nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank billpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It must have been a bad night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

It must have been a bad night
When we entered Kaw Thai, my husband spotted two different parties looking angry and standing up in their booths looking for help. He said, “Let’s get out of here.” I was hungry and had a Groupon coupon I wanted to use so I persuaded him we should stay. Bad move. We sat in the front near the counter and the kitchen so we would be visible. I ordered some wine. There were only 5 choices of wine by the glass. The waitress returned saying she couldn’t find the wine. (Eventually she did, but it wasn’t what I originally ordered.] Meanwhile I spotted other people waiting for carry outs, some we watched for about 45 minutes, playing with their smart phones. One group waiting for carry outs left and said they would return later.
We waited and waited for our orders. The waitress came back several times to clarify what we wanted and what meats or tofu we wanted. Two of the dishes clearly stated they came with XXX added. They didn’t need any clarification. She obviously wasn’t that familiar with the menu. We waited 1 hour 15 min. Then the seafood soup and wonton soup were served within minutes of the main courses.
In defense, the wonton soup was fabulous, not for the wontons, which were a bit tough, but for the delicious broth, perfectly seasoned. It was a large bowl for a starter and was sufficient for me for a meal. I only snacked on the massaman curry, which was well seasoned but somewhat bland for having been ordered medium spicy. My noodle dish, which was a house specialty, had about 5 shrimp only, some veggies, and tons of rice noodles, but where was the flavor? It was supposed to have a house made coconut sauce. The sauce was not detected. I took it home and put siracha and soy sauce on it and had it the next day for lunch.
Meanwhile during our meal I couldn’t help but stare at the window in the door from the kitchen to the restaurant—it was covered with dirty fingerprints and needed a good wash. When was it last cleaned? That gave me pause, as I don’t even want to think about the cleanliness of the rest of the place.
The kitchen staff was very noisy and talked out loud through an open window so much that it disrupted our meal. The man whom I think is the manager showed up part way through the evening but he didn’t control the noise coming from the kitchen.
Davis has lots of Thai restaurants. This one needs to improve its service, its cleanliness, and train its staff better. Also, the lights in the parking lot were not on when we arrived in the dark, and I almost fell twice. They were on when we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaL246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“CHOICES GALORE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

A good stop where you can relax and enjoy a good meal. The menu choices should satisfy most tastes and challenge your mix and match skills. The staff was cordial and kept the coffee flowing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1jandv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Interesting find in Davis. Cindy's is an old fashioned breakfast joint off of Highway 80 that also serves Thai food. There are not many places where you can get pancakes and pad thai!

The food was very tasty and the service was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cindy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cindy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing