We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Davis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Value in Davis”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best value in Davis at government rates. Decent place. Could use more aggressive facility maintenance, but rooms are clean, thus the 3 instead of 4 star rating. Not bad value for the $. I will stay here gain when in Davis on business. As far as I can tell, you'll have to pay a lot more to get a better hotel in Davis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Local93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
16
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is excellent. Its a very short distance away from downtown Davis so parking isn't a major issue. There are restaurants in walking distance. The manager is a friendly guy he made me feel welcome and my "Special Request" was honored. So they do take into consideration your needs.
The beds are so comfortable along with the fluffy pillows. You have a hot tasty breakfast in the mornings and you also have the convenience of a microwave and mini fridge. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Any room you choose should be good and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757Raspberrypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The desk clerk was very nice on check in and this hotel is located on a quiet street less than 5 minutes from UC Davis/downtown so it's very convenient for visiting parents. It is also relatively quiet, which is something I appreciate. The ammenities--fridge, microwave, sink, sofa, etc-- are also nice to have.

But there is a drawback and, for me, it is a major one: the internet wifi is abysmally slow (waiting 3-5 minutes for a page to load, timing out, etc.) I eventually gave up.

If having a good internet connection is important to you, you might want to shop around some more. I travel frequently, and I've also stayed in other hotels in Davis, but this is by far the slowest public wifi I have used (maybe it's just this night or just my room?). So, Because of this, the other conveniences of staying here are not enough to make up for the inconvenience of slow wifi service and I need to look elsewhere for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisElleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good price. Comfortable beds. I am a poor sleeper and these beds were quite comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. We had a special needs family member that needed oxygen delivery and the staff was competent and helpful. Complementary breakfast is nice. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zappos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchaud, France
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sited close to the freeway, this was a great place to stay. Also, close to the centre of town to enjoy the restaurants and delights of the "village". The rooms were comfortable, very quite and basic. I was disappointed to see styrofoam coffee mugs in the rooms, it didn't say much for value, but it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Davis for two nights in mid July while my daughter was attending Freshman orientation at UC Davis. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. For some reason, I was given the handicap room (this happens to me all the time) and there was no tub, but a big shower instead. I thought this would be a problem - water would get all over the bathroom while you shower, but it ended up not being the case. The service was great, with one slight exception - on one of my stay-over days, housekeeping did not clean my room. I had to call the front desk, at which time they indicated that my "do not disturb" sign was on the door all day and that's why they didn't clean. I told them that this was not the case - I had removed it before I went to the pool at about 12:15pm. They apologized and immediately sent someone to clean. The breakfast was as expected, with the service being great. The woman replenishing the food handled about a zillion ill mannered soccer youths with finesse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wanted quiet, we got it. We wanted a good bed, we got it. We wanted a refrigerator and we got it. Free parking, good location. So why only three stars?
For the past 3 days we have stayed ad "lesser or equal rate" hotels and all have had REAL coffee mugs instead of paper and REAL glasses instead of plastic.
An chain as good as this one should step up and do the same. Also get coffee makers that make a pot (2 cups) not the silly little single cup. These rooms are for two, lets get coffee makers for two as well!
Breakfast had cold cereals, hot waffle maker, yogurts and hot sausage patties and "eggs"

Room Tip: Ask for high and in the back if you want a quiet night with no parking lot lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
Address: 1640 Research Park Dr, Davis, CA 95618-4884 (Formerly Comfort Suites UC Davis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Uc Davis Hotel Davis
Comfort Suites Davis
Davis Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing