We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent/Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Personally, I liked this hotel. The location was perfect in downtown Davis despite being 5-6 blocks away from the university. There was a free continental breakfast buffet. There was 5-7pm happy hour with all you can drink beer. The hotel room was decent with a large bed and clean bathroom. The AC unit was a little loud and temperature control wasn't the best, but still habitable (it was triple digit temperatures outside). There's an AMtrack station nearby so it gets noisy every now and then, but i find it pleasant to hear the train pass by. They do have double sided glass doors to help reduce the AMtrack noise. The television was ancient and every time it was initially turned on, the volume was extremely loud. The pool is small. The water was choppy when I swam as the waves kept bouncing around the confined walls of the tiny pool. Overall I was content with the experience and would stay at the Hallmark Inn again if I had to for the price, the beer, the breakfast, the lounge, the decent bathroom, and the location.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank el2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

dirty bathrooms and noisy stay outside davis until there is a decent hotel train on the hour throughout the wee hours.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chiburashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

My parents and I stayed here during my son's wedding in March. We booked a king suite. I believe the room was #206. I picked this hotel because of the #1 rating. Then talked my parents into staying here. I am glad they didn’t blame me to bad. If this is #1, I would hate to see the others. (It was at the time) First impression of the room, it smelled weird. Turns out the restaurant attached to the hotel had a wood-burning oven with the chimney right outside the window. The room received a nice cloud all during the evening hours. Whew! Also the living room was extremely dark. The first night I stayed in the king bed since my parents were flying in the next day. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom part had a nice large window with a great view of the roof. Keep the sheers closed. I slept comfortably that night and since I live in a noisy city it was fine for me.
The living room and bedroom are separated by a short hall that has the mirrored closet on one side and the bathroom on the other. No door between the rooms, it is open. Privacy was fine because of the furniture arrangement. For the next 2 nights I stayed in the dungeon dark and HOT living room on an old sofa bed. I have slept on worse. There was absolutely NO airflow in that room and the air-conditioning unit is on the wall in the bedroom. When you turn on the lamps to get light in the living room, they make the room hotter. It was an awful trade off. When I'd get up in the morning I would actually open the door to a busy hallway to let in air and cool it down. How miserable was that! Our furnishings were very dated so if they are remodeling it is needed. Carpet very stained however it was clean considering how old everything is. Think early 80's decor. To let you know just how dark that area is, the previous occupant left his black garment bag in the closet on the floor. I only saw it when I tried to put my shoes in there. The bathroom was stocked quite nicely with thick towels and amenities. It was actually the nicest room in the suite. It was big with large marble type counter and tile floor.
The staff was very nice and attentive although when I asked for a fan, I would have wished they ran right out and bought one. ‘Course I can only wish. :)
They had a good breakfast but not as nice as the hotel website led you to believe. I was expecting scrambled eggs and sausage or bacon not boiled eggs and lunchmeat. It was still very good with toaster waffles, bagels, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, the standard, etc. Not the hot food I was expecting. I could have thrown some of the lunchmeat in the microwave I suppose. J
After the above I would still stay here again but NOT in a suite. I’d stay in one of the regular rooms. The hotel location was perfect. It is in downtown Davis right across from the train station. We walked around downtown Davis and checked out some very tasty restaurants.
Rating this hotel is hard. I’d give 0 (out of 10) for anyone having to sleep in the living room of a suite. Sleeping in the bedroom would get a 7 (out of 10). Location great, hotel staff great, breakfast good, room… there is still the smell of smoke… Get a room away from #206 on the other side preferably. If they have remodeled I would give it a 9 out of 10. Even then for that suite, unless they put in a skylight, block the smoke smell and fix the airflow problem in the living room, there is no hope. Oh, on a last note, I really loved that the housekeeping staff didn’t begin until around noon. There is nothing worse to me than to have the noise of housekeeping starting at 7AM yelling down hallways and banging vacuum cleaners around. For just that, Hallmark Inn gets a 10.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2010

Please accept my sincerest apology for feeling your experience with our front desk staff this past weekend was anything but accommodating as that is truly what we are here for. The demand for a late check out on Saturday is truly a difficult one to balance with expected early arrivals, which is why we offer to store luggage and extend parking passes when requested. The request for you to return was only to allow for communication with the housekeeping team to see they could accommodate your request not in anyway try to inconvenience you. Unfortunately it does not sound as if this was handled in the way you expected and I am very sorry for that. We do have quite a few guests that request room #101 as the location makes them feel they have their own private studio with access to the fitness center, pool and F street without having to go through the lobby of the hotel. If you would like to discuss this with me directly I am available Monday through Friday at #1-800-753-0035.
Sincerely-
Marisa Schaffer, General Manager

Bottom line - staff very rude and unaccommodating. Other reviewers seem to have had a similar experience with the Hallmark Inn. Definitely would not recommend this hotel to others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Studio City, Ca.
1
Reviewed May 11, 2006

This hotel is going through some renovations. This is a good thing. Keep an eye on it as it sweeps into the 21st century. In the meatime, the newer section is on the third floor and that is where we were put on our visit to visit UC Davis. The room was clean and the personnel pleasant. We didn't even ask, but rooms were available at the time of our visit and so personnel was intuitive enough to simply put us there. The included breakfast bar was varied with bagels to granola and yogurt. All in all, probably the best bet for the price. The manager is on site and available to accomodate special requests, such as location, if at all possible.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2006

Our room was too hot for sleeping so we ran the
AC to cool it to 65. The AC unit is in the wall and during the night I heard water dripping. In the morning, I found water dripping from the unit onto the rug. The rug was very wet and it was obvious that this was not the first time this had happened. Mold abounds making the air a problem for those with allergies to mold spores.

We were in a junior suite which was located across the hall from the ice machine. Thin walls - noisy ice machine.

Stayed: February 2006
Thank JMC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

A meeting at the University of California required an overnight stay at the Hallmark Inn. My fellow workers and I decided to use Amtrak from the Bay Area. This hotel is within a few easy blocks walk of the Amtrak Station.

The rooms are very large with excellent soundproofing. The room was clean, spacious with two queen beds. It could easily sleep a family. The staff was friendly and courteous.

The hotel offers an excellent free "Happy Hour" that included a variety of drinks. The bartender was friendly and excellent.

The hotel restaurant was also superb. Dinner was a pleasant surprise. After checking out some local restaurants, the hotel seemed to have the better selection. It was great. Pasta, chicken and fish dishes were were well prepared with fresh local ingrediants.

A free continental breakfast is included.

At an approximate cost of $90 per night, this hotel is a bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank patsyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank RisukaLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.3 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.2 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn at UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Address: 110 F St, Davis, CA 95616-4628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range: $168 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hallmark Inn at UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, comfort and convenience is what you will find when you stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. Our outdoor pool and patio is an oasis for you to relax and unwind while enjoying locally produced wines and beer from the Courtyard Lounge. Our spacious 120 guest rooms have plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, and so much more. We are proud to have been recognized for our eco-friendly efforts, including providing complimentary bicycles for our guests. For business or pleasure, we're the only full service hotel located in downtown Davis. Our location puts you within walking distance of the UC Davis campus, restaurants, boutiques and art galleries. A few steps from the hotel lobby leads you to dining, relaxing at Massage Envy or taking in a show. Teaspoons Cafe features items such as a daily egg scramble, & fresh pastries. For your sweet tooth CREAM is right next door. Voted Best in Davis, Seasons restaurant in the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis features an open kitchen with stone hearth oven and outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu focuses on locally grown and organic products with an extensive wine list. Private dining and catering are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn at UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Inn Davis Hotel Davis
Hallmark Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing