We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Family over Easter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence
edmond oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visiting Family over Easter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Now that we have a new granddaughter we fly more frequently to Davis CA. The Hallmark in is well located to shopping, walking and eating, & is just one of the hotels where we have stayed. The rooms are a good size and ours looked over the street. The train runs to the front of the hotel and not noticeable with the double doors to the balcony. The rooms are spotless and the maid staff excellent. The furniture was nice and a flat screen TV on the wall. Each floor's hall is flooded with natural light from large windows which makes each day seem more happy. There is a free breakfast, but it gets old after a couple of times. The front desk is either under trained or overwhelmed and always busy with a line. Parking was easy. THere is a bar, but used usually for groups staying there or for a free glass of wine. Closes at 7:00. No place to eat in the hotel except the free breakfast. But just a walk around the block and there is a nice bar and place to eat. There are many places to eat and shop within a short distance from the hotel. We never took our car out except to visit our family. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I wanted the train side, but make sure you ask where the room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheeler5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
On behalf of the Hallmark Inn, Davis team, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience over the holiday weekend. As you may have noticed we are undergoing a major renovation to our F Street side which also includes our dining area. The changes which includes creating a Cafe style Food/Beverage Outlet will definitely add a variety to not only our breakfast options but also lunch and dinner. We will ultimately be expanding our bar services to include cocktail service poolside. Looking forward to showing you all the new options at a future visit-
Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    98
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
111
48
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The location is great and the breakfast is very good including a custom omelet.
The nightly comimentary wine or cocktail was good also.
Unfortunately the property is in need of renovation. Our bathtub had gouges in it and the room size was smalland dated.
For the price paid, in a amall town in the Valley, we expected more. Prices must reflect scarsity during peak times for UC David.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDreaming07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hallmark Inn, Davis. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and nightly reception. As you may be aware, we are currently involved in a major renovation of our hotel which includes addressing any issues within our guest rooms. Looking forward to the opportunity of a future visit-
Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We just stayed at the Hallmark for the first time. We've stayed at numerous other Davis hotels and motels, and I'd say the Hallmark deserves its current rank as #1 in Davis. Our 2-queen room was adequate for the 3 of us; noise insulation was fine despite being in a not-so-quiet area (downtown Davis near the Amtrak station). The free breakfast was about as good as you could expect from a small hotel, much better than any other hotel in Davis, and the breakfast room was pleasant. The location is very convenient. The wireless internet was reliable, fast, and free.

It wasn't perfect; our next door neighbor's alarm woke us up, and the price is higher than competing hotels. But no major complaints, and we'd go back again, I can't say that about some other Davis hotels.

Room Tip: F street side was reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
On behalf of the Hallmark Inn, Davis team thank you for sharing your visit at our hotel. As you are aware we are currently upgrading the hotel and will be adding many features that we hope will only enhance our guests experience. We look forward to the opportunity of a future stay-
Sincerely-
Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A dump sorely in need of renovations and a change in attitude of staff. I'd rather spend a night in a white collar prison than go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Joe-
I am perplexed regarding your review of the Hallmark Inn, Davis as ....."a dump sorely in need of renovation...." as we just completed new paint and carpet installation in all of our guest rooms and some of the corridors as of March 9th. By the end of this week (3/23) the remaining corridor will be finished. In January we upgraded all of the rooms facing the pools with French Balconies and last year we completed updating all of our guest rooms with plush bedding, LCD TV's and other great amenities. So I must admit your statement baffles me as we have taken great precaution to work around our guests and minimize inconveniences.
Sincerely-
Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Clean room, good free breakfast, free parking, good location and reasonable price.

Stayed here during NYE while visiting family and we had a safe drive home and a good night's sleep. Highly recommend this hotel to people in town to visit Davis or family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtwodtew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
On behalf of the team at the Hallmark Inn, Davis, Thank you for sharing your experience with us during the holiday season. We are happy you like what we have to offer. Hope to have the opportunity of a future visit-
Sincerely-
Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoura hills California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My daughter is a student UC Davis. This small hotel is in the heart of the Davis town. It is in walking distance to the campus. The staff is helpful and very kind and full of information. In the morning they have a beakfast buffet. Its great. In the afternoon, there is wine and beer served at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momoffour04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hallmark Inn, Davis. Be sure to join our Aggie Parent Loyalty Fan club to receive extra benefits. Looking forward to your next visit to town-
Sincerely,
Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed two times at this very convient hotel. The rooms are ok. Not very big when you have two queen beds. The challange for this property is keeping the common areas clean. The elevator is dirty and I think an investment in some new vacums for the carpet would be good.The breakfast is excellen and overall our stay was good. We will be spending a lot of time in Davis as our daughter attends UC Davis. Next trip we will try a different property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your view of the Hallmark Inn, Davis. We are in the process of making some wonderful changes with our renovation and I apologize if the common areas were not kept up which was a purely an oversight on our part. We are adding french balconies to rooms overlooking the pool, new carpet, retail opportunities, enhanced food & beverage options along with a wonderful grand entrance. I appreciate your comments and hope you give us the opportunity of a future stay.
Sincerely-
Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn at UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Property: Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
Address: 110 F St, Davis, CA 95616-4628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hallmark Inn at UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, comfort and convenience is what you will find when you stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. Our outdoor pool and patio is an oasis for you to relax and unwind while enjoying locally produced wines and beer from the Courtyard Lounge. Our spacious 120 guest rooms have plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, and so much more. We are proud to have been recognized for our eco-friendly efforts, including providing complimentary bicycles for our guests. For business or pleasure, we're the only full service hotel located in downtown Davis. Our location puts you within walking distance of the UC Davis campus, restaurants, boutiques and art galleries. A few steps from the hotel lobby leads you to dining, relaxing at Massage Envy or taking in a show. Cafe 110 features items such as a daily egg scramble, homemade breakfast bread pudding. For your sweet tooth CREAM is right next door. Voted Best in Davis, Seasons restaurant in the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis features an open kitchen with stone hearth oven and outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu focuses on locally grown and organic products with an extensive wine list. Private dining and catering are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Inn at UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Inn Davis Hotel Davis
Hallmark Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing