We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for sushi and others” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuji Sushi Boat & Buffet

Fuji Sushi Boat & Buffet
Ranked #94 of 197 Restaurants in Davis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for sushi and others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is one of my favourite places as a grad student here. We used to come as a group all the time for the fantastic buffet lunches. Great variety but you need to wait a bit sometimes. Special items are not brought out but need to be ordered.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
145 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“How do they do it?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Been there twice in 2 years. The best offering of sushi, sashimi, grilled seafood and meats, and fried deliciousness. For what they charge, and for what you get, I can't see how they stay in business.

Go for lunch as soon as they open at 11:00 AM to get a seat at the sushi bar. It makes all the difference in the world. They'll accommodate virtually anything you want to order if they have it on hand. Try the deep fried soft shell crabs or oysters. Their shrimp tempura is excellent and an order comes with about 8 to 9 pieces. Don't worry everything is included in the buffet price.

The freshest maguro, hamachi, or salmon sashimi anyone? If you're craving sashimi, this is the place to come for all you can eat goodness. Of course they have tons of prepared sushi rolls and the variety is awesome. Try a little of everything so you can determine your favorite items before your next visit.

Driving from San Fran to get to Fuji's in Davis may seem outrageous, but try it once and you'll understand why people are willing to go the distance. We made the journey twice and we'll be doing it again and again. They're that "GOOD".

We have many similar buffets back home like Todais and Makino Chaya, but you really can't compare +$30.00 versus $15.00 at Fujis. Whenever we're in the bay area, going to Fujis is a must do. I rate this restaurant an A+ for value, taste, freshness, and service. They're easy to find with ample free parking across the street. If you're ever in Davis or East Bay, you gotta check it out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank esakimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Buffet EVER!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

was blown away at how good and fresh everything was and how many options you had.

Also enjoyed that the cooks noticed which one's I was enjoying and would keep handing my fresh samples when I was out.

A must go for those in the area and already I am considering driving back over from 40 miles away just to enjoy it again

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank i_am_the_koi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Been going there for years and for the price lunch is the bomb!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gosshog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been fans of sushi/sashimi for over 40 years but had never seen a 'sushi boat buffet'. It was a really great experience as well as truly good food and a great value. Being new to the general area we will plan to return regularly.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fuji Sushi Boat & Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing