We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Never stay in a first floor room. EVER!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Davis
San Jose, California
1 review
“Never stay in a first floor room. EVER!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just got back from a stay in this place. It's a pretty run of the middle low cost place to stay. It was basically clean although there were chips in the paint and the towels are incredibly thin. The problem is that we hardly got any sleep at ALL due to the incredible lack of insulation between our room on the first floor and the room above us on the the second. Not only did my daughter and I have to listen to the people in the room upstairs making wild loud and banging sex (imagine listening to our ceiling, and their bed creaking and hitting the wall again and again and again), but they chose to leave their radio and then their TV on all night. It was incredible that we could hear everything going on in that room. The sex, the radio, the TV and them talking. At 1:30 we finally called the front desk to complain. Obviously the person in the front office was sleeping as it took well over 5 minutes of the phone ringing for someone to even answer the phone. Then, they did absolutely nothing! So my advice to you is never never never get a room on the bottom floor of this place. Ever!

Room Tip: Always get a room on the second floor. NEVER the first. And don't expect any help in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jean T
We apologize for the horrible night you and your daughter have experienced at our property. We also apologize for the minimum response from our staff when you complained. We greatly appreciate your time for writing this review. We will definitely take your input into consideration to eliminate similar situation in the future.
However, we look forward to see you again at our property and accommodate you on the second floor for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    98
    57
    38
    34
See reviews for
155
28
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights and I surely loved it.

This location is one of the most renovated Days INN I've ever seen. Bedding were Premium and comfortable. Breakfast is a JOKE. The location isn't so great if you don't have a car. Not that close to UC Davis It's actually couple of miles away. Staff was nice. 3 mins from freeway though. Bathroom was clean and the room renovation is what made me fall in love with this location the most.

I'll stay here again for sure..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mohamad87
We greatly appreciate your time for writing this review. Your input is valuable and we love hearing from our guests. This gives us a chance to better ourselves in terms of service and value to our future and returning guests.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on a family vacation Hotel is very clean, grounds are beautiful with lots of palm trees and plants, pool and kids pool are nice and very clean.
The rooms, though clean, are very simple but nice The location is surrounded by lots of abandoned buildings, and a little far from the center of town.
Lack of restaurant - this hotel doesnt have a restaurant on-site.

But if you're looking for a clean, inexpensive place to sleep, with a nice pool, this hotel is worth considering!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carcarlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Carcarlinda

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property. Feedback like yours definitely help us to deliver excellent customer service. We hope to see you again and soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Un-impressive service
Un impressive accomodations - killed a huge cockroach in my room - kicked it out to the hallway - and it stayed there for the remaining 3 days
Nice pool that the kids enjoyed
When we tried to check back in they had quoted a $60 rate on the phone but it was a $100 rate when we arrived at the checkin counter 45 minutes later

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davis hotels

Menlo Park, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've stayed here before with better results. This trip our rug in our room was filthy and on day 3 we had no hot water. The staff was not particularly helpful or concerned. I had to suggest the ultimate solution which was to change rooms on the final day. When we did get to the 2nd room, there were no pillow cases.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Brad A

We apologize for the inconvenience and we are very disappointed in ourselves that we did not manage to keep the standard of our service on your last visit. However, we thank you for coming back to us and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
2.1 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis

Property: Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis
Address: 4100 Chiles Rd, Davis, CA 95618-4343 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Davis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to newly-renovated, value priced Davis, California Hotel. As Davis' largest hotel property, our facilities have been designed with you in mind. Whether your stay here is for business or for pleasure, you'll find that have something to offer everyone, including spacious accommodations with modern amenities that are sure to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy close proximity to shopping, dining, UC Davis, and Sacramento International Airport. Major Destinations such as Lake Tahoe and San Francisco are within a two-hour drive of our 100% smoke-free hotel. We're constantly evolving to serve you better and our knowledgeable, friendly staff is dedicated to enhancing your stay while helping you discover why we are Davis' most unique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Uc Davis Hotel Davis
Howard Johnson Hotel Davis
Howard Johnson Davis
Davis Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing