We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western University Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: right downtown, 2 blocks to campus, a beautiful little private balcony, windows that open

Cons: a little bit older, some traffic and train noise

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Very convenient for business on campus. A spacious and pleasant room. The train is nearby, but I didn't find it to be overwhelming.

Room Tip: rooms above the office have nice, private balconies. cool people-watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

A cozy hotel in the very downtown. Clean and tidy rooms with TV set, fridge, microwave oven and coffee pot. Rooms on the second floor are better, because they are quieter. You do not hear your neighbors on the first floor under you. Staff at the reception was very supportive and friendly. The hotel has a small gym and a tiny spa. They serve very basic complimentary breakfast, but it was OK to me. The only one thing that I didn't like was a noisy AC. It was too loud at night, but since it was hot, we had to have it on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatianakh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stop here a couple weeks ago to see about getting a room. My daughter and I walked in and the person at the front desk was in a back area on the phone. We patiently waiting for her to say "I'll be with you in a minute...." anything, anything at all. In the mean time I tell my daughter to step outside and call another hotel to see if they had a room. After waiting 5 minutes, we left. This person did not even look up at us. REALLY? Is it that hard to say I'll be right with you? Or even give a smile? I have stayed here once before and I will not go back again.

Wanda

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed one week in this hotel. The location is perfect: close to downtown and 10 min on foot to Amtrak station. The room is big, clean and very quiet. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast is good. I loved to bake my own waffle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanamih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Comfortable, clean with a great location. You can walk anywhere downtown with multiple good places to eat. If you have a large vehicle (over 6'7") you may have a hard time finding parking. Only has a spa (nice) no pool. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rooms were small. The bathroom had no counter space. Extension cords everywhere and most had intermittent connection to wall socket. Room took forever to cool down. The walls were paper thin and the noise level made it hard to sleep. The beds were average at best. Breakfast was not available until 7 AM (Late for Blue Collar workers). The best parts of the stay, Black Bear Dinner across the street and the external laundry service was great for a low price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank deisele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable and the TV has great channel selection. There's a mini fridge , microwave and coffee maker in the room. The towels smelled great and the shower is nice. Plenty of parking but my F-150 truck couldn't fit under the garage and I had to use the small lot near the lobby. The clearance is just 6'7" so anything bigger can't fit. There's a small exercise room with weights and cardio equipment. The cardio could all be updated, machines are old but work. Free breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 53bethk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.1 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Lodge

Address: 123 B St, Davis, CA 95616-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range: $146 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western University Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Davis
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing