We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: right downtown, 2 blocks to campus, a beautiful little private balcony, windows that open

Cons: a little bit older, some traffic and train noise

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Very convenient for business on campus. A spacious and pleasant room. The train is nearby, but I didn't find it to be overwhelming.

Room Tip: rooms above the office have nice, private balconies. cool people-watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    37
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
22
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A cozy hotel in the very downtown. Clean and tidy rooms with TV set, fridge, microwave oven and coffee pot. Rooms on the second floor are better, because they are quieter. You do not hear your neighbors on the first floor under you. Staff at the reception was very supportive and friendly. The hotel has a small gym and a tiny spa. They serve very basic complimentary breakfast, but it was OK to me. The only one thing that I didn't like was a noisy AC. It was too loud at night, but since it was hot, we had to have it on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatianakh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stop here a couple weeks ago to see about getting a room. My daughter and I walked in and the person at the front desk was in a back area on the phone. We patiently waiting for her to say "I'll be with you in a minute...." anything, anything at all. In the mean time I tell my daughter to step outside and call another hotel to see if they had a room. After waiting 5 minutes, we left. This person did not even look up at us. REALLY? Is it that hard to say I'll be right with you? Or even give a smile? I have stayed here once before and I will not go back again.

Wanda

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atibaia, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed one week in this hotel. The location is perfect: close to downtown and 10 min on foot to Amtrak station. The room is big, clean and very quiet. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast is good. I loved to bake my own waffle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanamih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Comfortable, clean with a great location. You can walk anywhere downtown with multiple good places to eat. If you have a large vehicle (over 6'7") you may have a hard time finding parking. Only has a spa (nice) no pool. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Rooms were small. The bathroom had no counter space. Extension cords everywhere and most had intermittent connection to wall socket. Room took forever to cool down. The walls were paper thin and the noise level made it hard to sleep. The beds were average at best. Breakfast was not available until 7 AM (Late for Blue Collar workers). The best parts of the stay, Black Bear Dinner across the street and the external laundry service was great for a low price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank deisele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable and the TV has great channel selection. There's a mini fridge , microwave and coffee maker in the room. The towels smelled great and the shower is nice. Plenty of parking but my F-150 truck couldn't fit under the garage and I had to use the small lot near the lobby. The clearance is just 6'7" so anything bigger can't fit. There's a small exercise room with weights and cardio equipment. The cardio could all be updated, machines are old but work. Free breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Davis Near UC Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN University Lodge
Address: 123 B St, Davis, CA 95616-4636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Davis
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing