We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice outdoor seating, but terrible service and food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 33 Davis

Bistro 33 Davis
Ranked #30 of 197 Restaurants in Davis
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 3rd Street
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating, but terrible service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is one of the best places to dine outdoors in Davis. It's too bad the atmosphere, service and food are mediocre, at best. Prices are bit high, which is fine when the service and food are good. But in this case they do not measure up. The atmosphere is also boring. In the summer they often have terrible live music. Alternative folk singers, acoustic punk bands. You would think a place like this might have the sense to have some nice jazz, since they charge a lot and present themselves as an upscale place. The food is average at best. So close the Napa, you would think they could have something original and fresh on the menu. Overall, bad choice for Davis dining. You are better off at Cafe Bernardo's or Seasons.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ARC191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    48
    41
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“active”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

eclectic menu,small or large attractive plates.outside or inside humming evening and night music too

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had brunch for a friend's birthday yesterday and the food was fabulous, fresh fruits and breads and bottomless mimosa's. We all decided it's the place to go in Davis for a nice experience and if the weather is gorgeous definitely sit outside if you can. We all loved the new menu!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretentious, but good veggie options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

People who live in Davis know the Bistro as the place to be seen, by the 30- to 50-somethings. It sometimes has a younger crowd, but usually they are friends of the staff hanging out. The food is good and the atmosphere is friendly. The pretentious part of it is that people act a bit like they are "being seen" in SF, and forget that they are sitting in a farm town in the Central Valley. Delusion for dinner may not be satisfying, but it seems to bring people back, including yours truly. Their paninis are excellent and their fry and dip selections are bombolicious. Great place in Davis for vegetarians, actually one of the few places.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoyed dinner here with out of town friends. All four of us had something different in mind for dinner. There was something on the menu that met everyone's needs. Being on two levels made the place feel small and cozy. We were seated across from the bar, but it wasn't noisy at all. We could talk easily. The service was good, and we were not rushed. Everyone liked their dinner choices. I had the crab cakes and a side salad. The salad was excellent. The presentation of the crab cakes was excellent with two sauces covering the plate. However, one of the sauces with cayenne was a little spicier than I would have liked. I thought the sauce overwhelmed the crab cakes. I used very little of that sauce and more of the tomato sauce.

Their large patio is very inviting. Next time I would sit out there and have a glass of wine before dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSP799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bistro 33 Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing