We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our House

Our House
Reserve with OpenTable
Our House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 197 Restaurants in Davis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a fantastic dinner here for my birthday and our friend's anniversary. I put my husband in charge of finding a great place for us to celebrate. He did a great job finding Our House. Loved the interior... booths with loose pillows and fancy chandeliers. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. Good selection of wine... we were there on a Monday and their drink special was $5 Martini's. I had the BBQ Salmon with grilled asparagus which was simply delicious. The desert was on the house for our special occasion... our friends had the creme brulee and we had the cheesecake. I would highly recommend this place for a nice dinner out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent desserts, and the food is very good also!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Creme Brûlée over chocolate layer is to die for! The food is excellent and the service is attentive without being overbearing. A very relaxed atmosphere makes dining here a pleasure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papajon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, Nice Place for a Special Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a birthday dinner recently at one of our finest local restaurants. Came early for Happy Hour wine & appetizers (can recommend the mac n'cheese, pork sliders, tacos, and hamburger from experience) and then moved on to a wonderful steak dinner. My Filet Au Poivre (Peppercorn, Cognac Cream Sauce, & Mashed Potatoes) was delicious & cooked perfectly. If you don't like peppercorns though, you might ask for a slight reduction - there are a lot of them, which added to the flavor for me & wasn't a problem. The sauce is very good, just the right amount, and not at all overpowering. Surprised there was no bread with dinner, but we didn't really miss it or need it. Wedge salad was a good salad choice. Loved the banana cream pie for dessert! Hard to get good banana cream pie anywhere these days. Service was genuinely friendly & excellent. Recommend "Our House" if you're looking for a good restaurant in Davis, one for a special occasion, or even a Happy Hour visit. They also have piano music during Sat. eve. dining hours the first Sat of every month. I'd call first to confirm the music schedule though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Happy To Have A Great Place To Eat In Davis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here tonight. Really enjoyed the oysters and the skewers we had for appetizers. My Filet Au Poivre (Peppercorn, Cognac Cream Sauce, Mashed Potatoes, Seasonal Vegetable) and my son's New York Steak (Chimichurri Butter, Our House Potato Chips, Horseradish Coleslaw) were both great. My husband's gnocchi (Pan Seared, Pesto Cream Sauce, Pancetta, Arugula, Parmesan, Poached Egg) was a bit smaller than expected, but tasty. Brother-in-law enjoyed his salad special and Rootbeer Pulled pork sliders
(Caramelized Onions, House-Made BBQ Sauce, Creamed Horseradish, Grilled Corn) even though they did bring it too early, perhaps thinking it was going to be another shared appetizer.
We shared a very nice bottle of Fiddletown Old Vine Zinfindel 2011. We were pleasantly surprised that they have live music on a Thursday night! Looking forward to returning here many times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upscale Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our House has a cute name, I'm sure someone's shown up at the wrong place, but if so they missed a great little hang-out. Catering to the older crowd most nights, this is a place to meet with friends and avoid the rowdy college crowd. That's not to say it can't get loud and crazy at times. Come for dinner with a varied menu, start off with some drinks, and you'll feel like it is your new home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TenderGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our House also viewed

 

Been to Our House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing