We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We even got a Thanksgiving Hug”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I made an overnight stop and stayed at the Hyatt Place on our way to the Bay Area for Thanksgiving. We haven't been back since we went to school there almost 30 years ago, so we were glad to have our GPS. There was still construction in the area, but it was still very easy to get to from the freeway. We requested a quiet King room, and it faced out onto one of the side buildings, so it was perfect. I don't know how long this Hyatt has been here, but everything looked new and very well maintained. The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a nice sitting/desk area. The TV console had quite the input interface panel (if you ever want to give a presentation from your laptop in your room, you're all set!). The best thing is that the Hyatt Place has everything included - free WiFi, good assortment of TV channels, and free breakfast (unlike the more expensive Hyatt hotels). And the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And as we left our room with our luggage in tow the following morning, our housekeeper stopped us and gave each of us a "Thanksgiving hug."

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, with a perfect location if UC Davis is your destination; it is located adjacent to campus. Rooms are very large with very comfortable beds and sofas and lots of wood, giving it a positive non-hotel feel. Desk, refrigerator, iron, ice bucket and a huge flat screen tv are all present. It has a large shower and appropriate shampoo and conditioner. The fitness room is small but with free weights and several machines. Towels and water are provided and it is open 24/7 with a room key. Hotel has a pool but I didn't use it in November. Breakfast is included and it was fine-not great- but fine. For other times of the day you can get sandwiches, pizzas, etc. and booze, but there is really no restaurant in the traditional sense. The hotel has a free shuttle to take you into Davis proper but you can also walk it in about 15 minutes. If I had business in the vicinity again, I would definitely select Hyatt Place.

Room Tip: if noise is an issue, ask for a room facing the back. rooms facing the front are about 100 meters fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Convenient, clean, friendly. The rooms are spacious and well designed. Beds are comfortable. The room has all of the right connectors in the walls conveniently located to plug in all of the technology we now travel with. It's really close to the center of town and the Arboretum provides a lovely walk.

My only gripe would be that the 2nd floor rooms have major mildew problems. Is it in the carpets? It was pretty overpowering. I have stayed twice now - in 2010 and in 2012. When I stayed a couple of years ago the problem was there. I told the front desk staff, but I guess in the meantime the problem has not been solved. If they can fix that problem then I would very happily stay again and I would give it 4-5 stars.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Bad: We had booked a 2 Queen Suite but when we arrived they had given our room away and had us in a King room so we had to share the bed with the kids and didnt get good sleep. Also, this was the Smallest room I have ever stayed in, I felt claustrophobic at times.

The Good: Super Friendly service, good breakfast, very convenient to be right on campus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel with lower than average room count (75) for a large chain. The staff was young, cheerful and very proud of their facility. Check in was very simple. The facility is less than three years old and well maintained. One night stay and arrived in the evening. They drove me into town (four blocks away) to a great Thai restaurant (Sophia's) and then picked me up. Could have used a bicycle they offer for free at the hotel however it was too dark. Breakfast was prepared sandwiches with a nice variety of fruit, bagels, cereals and beverages. Very well maintained workout area with free weights and aerobic equipment. Pool is small with no spa. Wi-Fi and electronics in place as would be expected for a university location hotel. Did not visit the small bar located next to the check in desk. Used Priceline "Name Your Price" for a terrific room rate for this three star hotel. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room as they are located on the back side of hotel and train runs at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent two nights on the non-train side of the hotel. Extremely clean lobby, facilities and rooms. Our room was very quiet and generous in size, with a separate large seating area (like a mini-suite). Streamline contemporary furnishings. Computers and printer in lobby. Decent already prepared breakfast, though not made to order. Very limited food selection for lunch and dinner (only a handful of light meals), so need to drive off-campus for a good meal. Good wine available though. Friendly young staff. Only one block away from Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts.

Room Tip: Reserve non-train side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I recently had to visit the Vetinary Centre, UC Davis after an emergency with our dog Rex. The entire staff at this hotel could not have been more supportive, friendly and helpful, from Polly the manager thru every person at every level. Most of the staff are former students at UC Davis and make up an amazing team. They multi task, are qualified in every area, and went out of their way to accommodate our every need at a time when we were very stressed and worried about Rex's health. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the breakfast and 24 hour availability of good food and decent wines was a huge plus.The shuttle service was excellent, again run by all the staff so we were never left waiting for a driver. I would rate the staff here as being at least as good as one would find at say a Four Seasons or Rosewood Hotel. A first class hotel and certainly the best in town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward_bicknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place UC Davis

Address: 173 Old Davis Road, Davis, CA 95619
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range: $152 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place UC Davis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uc Davis Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing