We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
san diego CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent a great night in August. Clean, modern, helpful friendly staff, great bed/bedding, exercise room, quiet, and right on campus. Did not eat there, but definitely will stay again. And low priceline bid! Thanks Hyatt Place! PS air conditioner was on and did not hear trains if they passed.

Room Tip: third floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    196
    66
    33
    29
See reviews for
273
53
31
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here one night. The hotel was clean, comfortable and still felt new -- probably one of the nicer-looking Hyatts we've been in. Staff was friendly and courteous as well. Free Wi-Fi would have been a great feature had it been working, but it wasn't when we were there. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast but that's a bonus as well.

The one caveat that other reviewers have also mentioned is that the hotel is right by the train tracks. We were on the fourth floor and it wasn't a problem until we decided to open our window at night. It wasn't an issue as long as the windows were closed, but can't speak to rooms on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms away from the elevator. We had a room relatively nearby and we could hear everyone that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

this hotel is awesome. it's new, the rooms are big, everything is clean, pretty, and modern, and they have free wifi throughout the entire hotel--no password required!. the staff is super and extremely professional. i slept like a baby and they serve a real complimentary breakfast that actually has hot food and fresh fruit. the location is also really good--especially if you are visiting people at UC Davis. the lobby is nice and airy and has lounge areas that you actually want to sit in. everything about our stay was pleasant and exceeded expectations. we got a great deal on priceline and it ended being about the same price or less than hotels of less caliber in the area.

Room Tip: i could hear the trains very faintly but our room was on the opposite side--ask for the non-train si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you enjoy sleeping with trains speeding by just outside your window, then you're in luck!
We checked in at 2 am, and to my surprise, I was up all night. At first, I though there were low-flying planes overhead, and then when morning came, I realized there were train tracks adjacent to the hotel! If you can survive this, then this Hyatt is great.
Super clean, friendly staff, decent free b'fast and funky design. Best of all it's so convenient to campus, just off the highway, and perfect for jumping on walking and biking trails near the arboretum. We loved the fresh bowl of apples in the lobby, too. A nice touch.
Design-wise, the closet could be bigger and the rooms really need a safe. Also, the lighting is very very poor, especially in the shower/toilet area where there's a delayed setting.

Room Tip: Make sure to NOT get room 415. very noisy. Ask for a room on the other side of the hall, where it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

You just can't get any more convenient while touring UC Davis campus. Hotel is literally on campus and walking distance to the campus admin building. Hotel had more than enough room, loved the corner couch/sleeper. Clean and breakfast included....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montesce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

In Davis for girls soccer tourney. Great hotel and great location but even better service and value. Free shuttle took 8 or so players for yogurt and also took them to their game one morning, allowing the parents to relax a bit longer. They also have free bikes for guests to use and you can get anywhere on campus or downtown. Clean, comfortable, and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe-07-09-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at this property before and it is a good one. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. If you will be attending a function at the Mondavi Center, it is right next door and within walking distance. This hotel is relatively new and a very good value. The main disadvantage is that is is not within walking distance of downtown Davis with all of its charm and, of course, all of its restaurants. If you choose to stay here and don't have a GPS, follow the signs to the Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center and go right past it, otherwise it can be hard to find using a road map. I visit Davis regularly and will stay here again, although I will also continue to stay downtown when I have friends visiting at the same time so that dinner is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place UC Davis

Property: Hyatt Place UC Davis
Address: 173 Old Davis Road, Davis, CA 95619
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place UC Davis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uc Davis Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing