We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Cottages make this an excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were upgraded to a two room cottage/casita and it was fabulous - clean, spacious (includes couch, desk, TV in the main room, a mini kitchen and a separate bedroom) and convenient. Our private deck (room 304) was facing B street but there are others with more private decks. There is a restaurant across the street that did play loud live music at one point during the day but they ended early.

A VERY basic breakfast room (coffee, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, make your own waffles, fruit) is included. The TVs, towels, etc were fitting a more expensive hotel although the pillows could use upgrading. as could the lighting in the main room (in our cottage at least). Lots of windows tho!

At First and B, this is a perfect location - two blocks from the park and farmer's market and many restaurants and shops. You can easily walk or ride a bike anywhere.

For the price and location this was an excellent hotel and we'll likely stay here next year.

Room Tip: Cottages are large - there are two that have decks facing the parking lot that I'd avoid. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Please accept our sincere thanks for your candid review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at one of our cottages. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and accommodations at affordable prices.

Hope to see you again soon,

Maria Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Aggie Inn gets high praise for it's proximity to campus, restaurants and the wonderful Farmer's Market. Stayed here twice, once in the spring and again in June. During spring visit last year, weather in Davis was cool and comfortable so no reason to turn on the a/c, hence sound sleep. On recent visit, temps were in the 90's so yes, a/c a must! Our second floor room was comfortable and familiar, but the noise from the a/c was not. For the person sleeping next to the controls and motor, it made for a very restless sleep! Sink and shower fixtures were squeaky when used, but a minor annoyance. Tip: if a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the a/c might shake you from your slumber in auto mode. On the plus side, a clean room w/comfortable beds, easy check-in/out and convenient parking is worth another visit...when it's cooler!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

I apologize for the issues you encounter during your stay. I thank you for the taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed and we will work into fixing this issues so that we may continue to maintain the high standards the guest deserves.

I sincerely hope you will gives us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.

Sincerely,

Maria Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay at the Aggie Inn recently. Upgraded to a Premium Cottage Suite which was simply excellent. Lovely spacious accommodation and spotlessly clean. The cottage has a separate living area with settee, TV and a small kitchenette with fridge, kettle and microwave. The bedroom itself has a wonderful, comfortable super king size bed and a nice big LCD TV. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and separate 'his and hers' wash basins. The cottage has a small outdoor seating area although that does look directly over the car parking area which isn't too picturesque!

The accommodation came with a more than adequate complimentary breakfast comprising juice, coffee, pastries, waffles and cereals.

Aggie Inn is really well situated - just a few minutes walk to the UC Davis campus in one direction and into downtown Davis in the other direction. An airport shuttle from SFO aiport is $85 plus tip.

I'd heartily recommend the Aggie Inn for anyone looking for accommodation in Davis.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Aggie Inn. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at one of our cottage suites. Housekeeping is an area we have always focus, we like to offer a clean and comfortable experience, so I'm glad to see you have been able to notice our efforts to give our guests a great experience.

Thank you again for your review and hope to serve you again in your next visit to Davis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip. Our 2 double bed room had coffee maker, mini-frig and microwave. Fruit always available in the lobby and warm cookies PM. As others have noted it is a great location for the campus and nearby shopping and some great university town restaurants. We were on the first floor, which was fine. The cottages look very pleasant for longer stays.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank You for sharing your stay at the Aggie Inn. And Yes the Aggie Inn is located only a block from UC Davis. I'm glad you experience our great location within walking distances to great restaurants and our unique shops in downtown, Davis.

Our Cottage Suites are also great rooms, and they are great for long or short term stays. Very spacious 2-room suites.

We hope you enjoy you next time stay with us in one of the cottages, Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have stayed here several times but noted it needed some updating on our last trip. This is a small, boutique hotel in a great spot next to the University in downtown Davis. You can walk to shopping and great restaurants, it is a block from a good coffee shop / breakfast place and on the border of UCD. It is in a quiet location but the floor above us creaked, there were unplastered holes in the walls and the furnishings looked dated. The "breakfast" certainly leads a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Upstairs may be better but they all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pammft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank You so much for your feedback. It is always good to received feedback from our regular guests, especially when you are able to judge our performance over a long time period. We actually started to focus on breakfast and will be making some changes and offer better choices. Will also take your feedback and will bring the maintenance issues to our maintenance department and improve where improvement is needed.

The Aggie Inn staff look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and experience our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We reserved a room and were assigned to a spacious, nicely appointed suite that made our 3-night stay more like a vacation than a business trip. Being in one of the cottages behind the office made our room very quiet and we had a parking place right by our door every time we needed one. Unlike a colleague who stayed in a nearby motel, we had not one, but two working flat screen televisions, a quiet refrigerator and microwave. After a long day in meetings, it was especially nice to be able to walk to nearby bookstores and restaurants in the evening. Centrally located hotels in university towns get a lot of wear and tear, so we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and friendly service at Aggie Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Hi, Thank You for your review. The Cottage Suites definitely offer good value for money and most guests are always pleasantly surprise with the size and the amenities we offer.

Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Davis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

On a recent trip to work at UCD I stayed in this hotel for the first time. My room with 2 queen beds was on the small side, but the bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bath was clean with adequate water pressure in the shower. The morning breakfast offered many choices and very good coffee. I was pleased with the room rate, the quiet location and the proximity to campus. Would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Sunflower333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

I'm very pleased to hear you had a very comfortable stay at the Aggie Inn and I'm glad you enjoy the breakfast. Our goal at the Aggie Inn is for every guest to have a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon. Thank You for sharing your experience at Aggie Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
0.3 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 245 1st St, Davis, CA 95616-4645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range: $141 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Hotel Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing